Where We Are
Physical Address:
2016 Warehouse Road
Normal, Illinois 61790
Phone Number:
(309) 438-3546
Click here for driving directions to the Rayfield Archives vis Milner Library (ISU Campus)
Click here for directions to the Rayfield Archives using Constitution Trail
If you are traveling by bus:
Take the Pink Line to the Rabb Road/Constitution Trail stop. Enter the trail and walk north for approximately one mile. The Rayfield Archives will be on the left in a blue building (the Town of Normal water tower is next to the building).
History of the Archives
- A Case Study of University Archives: Illinois State University Archives as a Model Archive byCall Number: LD2347 .Z9 no.7026Publication Date: 2015Master degree candidate Tammy M. Hansen wrote her thesis on the differences and challenges faced by four academic archival facilities in Illinois, including the Rayfield Archives. Her thesis also explores the history of the Rayfield Archives, from its initial founding in 1970 as the university's repository, later to Dr. Rayfield's work in the 1990's and 2000's, and to the current work performed by University Archivist, April Karlene Anderson-Zorn.
Why 'Rayfield' Archives?
Though we are the official repository for Illinois State University, we are named for our previous archives custodian, Dr. Jo Ann Rayfield. Through her tireless efforts, she was able to save many important pieces of Illinois State's history. When Dr. Rayfield retired in 2009, Milner Library renamed the repository in her honor to recognize her work to preserve ISU's heritage.
She sometimes finds her way back to the Archives to check in on things! If you ever see Dr. Rayfield in the Redbird neighborhood, be sure to say hello!