Skip to main content

Rayfield (University) Archives

Your guide to all things ISU history! Search this guide for helpful research ideas, links to our online publications and resources, scheduling a class, and much more!

Welcome to the Dr. Jo Ann Rayfield Archives!

We are the official repository for all things ISU history!  If you are looking for information about how ISU got started, old campus photos for your class project, or you're just trying to figure out who Hovey is and why that name is on a building, you are in the right place!

Mission and Collecting Policy

Mission of the Rayfield Archives

The Dr. Jo Ann Rayfield Archives at Illinois State University (University Archives) is the official repository for selected materials that document the history of the university and all aspects of University life.  The University Archives collects preserves and makes accessible these materials to support Milner Library and the ISU community’s research and teaching goals.

 

Collecting Policy at the Rayfield Archives

Official records from governing boards, campus offices, faculty and student governance bodies, committees, colleges, departments and faculty and student organizations are collected by the University Archives. In addition, the University Archives collects the professional and personal papers of faculty, administrative staff, and alumni as they pertain to the university.  The University Archives also collects materials on Illinois educational organizations relevant to the University and local manuscripts or archival materials of individuals, clubs or businesses relating to the University.


In 2011, the University Archives began collecting materials related to the teaching style known as Herbartianism.  These materials include records of organizations and groups dedicated to the awareness and education of the Herbartian teaching style as well as the personal papers of individuals who taught, administered or were educated in the Herbartian method.  The University Archives will also collect monographs, ephemera, memorabilia and other materials related to the teaching, administering or education of the Herbartian method.