How can the Rayfield Archives help?
We offer a variety of services for ISU faculty, staff, students, the local community, and researchers.
- Research Services: With over 150 collections available to access, our Archives staff can help you identify resources that can help your research and assist you in browsing our materials. Questions about the first year your department opened? Wondering where the "Normal' went in the university's official name? We can help you find the answers to your ISU history questions!
- Digitization: Many of the historic photographs of the university are found in our Photographic Services Collection. We offer in-house digitization services for most requests. We also partner with Milner Library's Digitization Center to complete larger digitization projects and requests.
- Exhibits: We have researched and created dozens of exhibits both on-campus and in the region using items from the Archives. We also collaborate with area partners to help them exhibit their history.
- Facility Tours: Looking to learn more about Archives? We offer a variety of tours including an introduction to archives and topic-specific discussions. From small groups to large classes, we can show you how we preserve ISU history!
- Classes: You can bring your class to the Archives or we can come to you! The University Archivist has a number of topics available and can cater to your course needs. See below to learn how you can schedule an Archives session for your class!
Schedule a class!
Want to add Archives to your class session?
We have many sessions available including an archives introduction, the history of ISU, historic campus faculty and administrators, campus building history, ISU's connection to national historic events (Civil War, World War I, World War II, the Civil Right Movement), and sessions on the archives profession. The Rayfield Archives can also create a session to a specific classroom need. Email University Archivist, April Anderson-Zorn to chat about your session and to schedule a class!
Schedule an Appointment!
Ready to research? Email us with your research needs today!
You can also call us at:
(309) 438-3546
By appointment only. Building hours are Monday - Friday, 8am-4pm.