Finding Articles / Journals
This page provides information about finding nursing journals and nursing databases, including video tutorials.
Here's an advanced searching tutorial created by your nursing librarian.
Nursing Journals
- Find an Article with a ReferenceThis video shows how to find an article if you already have the reference information found in a bibliography or reference list.
- How to Find an Electronic Journal by TitleThis video shows how to find the electronic version of a journal using the Electronic Journal (e-journals) search tool.
- Find a Full Text Article with LibKeyThis video shows how to use the LibKey link from within a database to determine if the full text article is available online.
Nursing Databases
-
CINAHL UltimateFull text database of nursing & allied health journals.
-
Cochrane LibraryFull text database providing original documentation on a variety of medical topics and health care based on research from journal research articles. Limited to one user at a time.
-
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI)
Citation database about behavioral measurement instruments. Limited to 10 simultaneous users.
-
JBI EBP DatabaseFull text evidence-based practice database for medical, nursing, and health science specialties and includes evidence summaries, evidence-based recommended practices, best practice information sheets, systematic reviews, consumer information sheets, systematic review protocols, and technical reports.
-
PubMed
Citation database compiling scholarly research from all aspects of biomedicine such as biochemistry, molecular biology, bioengineering systems, biotechnology, cell and developmental biology, genetics, health informatics, human structure and function, immunology, microbiology, immunology, neuroscience, pathology, pharmacology, and physiology.
-
UpToDate
A full text evidence-based, clinical database that provides reports including meta-analyses or randomized trials along with observational studies and unsystematic clinical observations. Create a personal account to access the database
Access is limited to Nursing students, staff, and faculty.
-
Find a Database by TitleThis video shows how to find a Milner Library database when you already know the title.
-
Find a Database by SubjectThis video shows how to find a Milner Library database that covers a specific subject or discipline.
Questions? Contact me!
Ask a Milner Librarian
How to do a PICO search in CINAHL
-
Seven Steps to the Perfect PICO SearchOn this webpage, download the white paper for tips on how to do a PICO search in CINAHL.