Recommended Journals
This box includes journals that cover multiple scientific disciplines. For something that is specific to a discipline (such as physics, chemistry, etc.), explore the dropdown boxes below.
- Cultural Studies of Science Education
Examines science education as a cultural, cross-age, cross-class, and cross-disciplinary phenomenon. It establishes bridges between science education and social studies of science, public understanding of science, science and human values, and science and literacy.
- International Journal of Science and Mathematics Education
"International Journal of Science and Mathematics Education (IJSME) publishes original, peer reviewed articles on a variety of topics and research methods in both science and mathematics education. Articles address common issues in mathematics and science education. The journal also publishes studies that explore the use of a variety of teaching and learning strategies in different cultural and cross-curricular contexts."
-
International Journal of STEM Education
A multidisciplinary journal in subject-content education that focuses on the study of teaching and learning in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM).
- Journal of College Science Teaching
"The Journal of College Science Teaching provides a forum for the exchange of ideas on and experiences with undergraduate science courses, particularly those for nonscience majors. JCST also reports and discusses innovative teaching materials, methods, and evaluative criteria; disseminates contributions toward improving college science instruction; and describes work in disciplinary science courses that is broad enough in its approach to appeal to teachers in other scientific fields."
-
Journal of Research in Science, Mathematics and Technology Education
Publishes international original peer-reviewed articles on topics and research methods across the STEM education fields with a focus on interdisciplinary publications. Articles are open-access and freely available.
- Journal of Research in Science Teaching
"The Journal of Research in Science Teaching publishes reports for science education researchers and practitioners on issues of science teaching and learning and science education policy."
-
Journal of Science Education and Technology
Publishes peer-reviewed and invited articles address the intersection of science education and technology with implications for improving and enhancing science education at all levels across the world.
"Journal of Science Teacher Education (JSTE) is the flagship journal of the Association for Science Teacher Education. It serves as a forum for disseminating high quality research and theoretical position papers concerning preservice and inservice education of science teachers. The Journal features pragmatic articles that offer ways to improve classroom teaching and learning, professional development, and teacher recruitment and retention at pre K-16 levels."
-
School Science and Mathematics
An international journal that emphasizes research on issues, concerns, and lessons within and between the disciplines of science and mathematics in the classroom. As a peer-refereed professional journal, it is a trusted resource for science and mathematics educators and is a leader in STEM integration articles.
- Science and Education
"Science & Education publishes research using historical, philosophical, and sociological approaches in order to improve teaching, learning, and curricula in science and mathematics. In addition, the journal disseminates accounts of lessons, units of work, and programs at all levels of science and mathematics that have successfully utilized history and philosophy."
-
Publishes original articles on the latest issues and trends occurring internationally in science curriculum, instruction, learning, policy and preparation of science teachers with the aim to advance our knowledge of science education theory and practice.
-
The official journal of The National Science Education Leadership Association (NSELA), is a refereed journal for professionals involved in science education leadership.
-
NSTA's peer-reviewed journal for middle level and junior high school science teachers.
- The Science Teacher
NSTA's award-winning, peer-reviewed practitioner journal for secondary level and high school science teachers.
Discipline Specific Journals
- Advances in Physiology Education
"Advances in Physiology Education promotes and disseminates educational scholarship in order to enhance teaching and learning of physiology, neuroscience and pathophysiology. The journal publishes peer-reviewed descriptions of innovations that improve teaching in the classroom and laboratory, essays on education, and review articles based on our current understanding of physiological mechanisms."
-
An award-winning, peer-refereed professional journal for K-16 biology teachers. Topics covered in the journal include modern biology content, teaching strategies for the classroom and laboratory, field activities, applications, professional development, social and ethical implications of biology and ways to incorporate such concerns into instructional programs, as well as reviews of books and classroom technology products.
- Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Education
A peer-reviewed international journal focused on teacher preparation and student education in biochemistry, molecular biology, biophysics, cell biology and more.
- Bioscene
A refereed biannual journal that's content focused on college biology instruction.
- BioScience
A peer-reviewed journal, "BioScience includes articles about research findings and techniques, advances in biology education, professionally written feature articles about the latest frontiers in biology, discussions of professional issues, book reviews, news about AIBS, a policy column (Washington Watch), and an education column (Eye on Education)."
-
Publishes peer-reviewed articles on life science education at the K–12, undergraduate, and graduate levels. It focuses on how students are introduced to the study of life sciences, as well as approaches in cell biology, developmental biology, neuroscience, biochemistry, molecular biology, genetics, genomics, bioinformatics, and proteomics.
- Journal of Biology Education
"The Journal of Biological Education is an international journal that publishes the latest research into the teaching, learning and assessment of biology...The journal aims to bridge the gap between research and practice, providing information, ideas and opinion, in addition to critical examinations of advances in biology research and teaching."
- Journal of Microbiology & Biology Education
"As [American Society for Microbiology]’s first open access education journal, the Journal of Microbiology & Biology Education (JMBE) offers original, previously unpublished, peer-reviewed articles that foster scholarly teaching, and provide readily adoptable resources in biology education at the undergraduate, graduate, professional (e.g., medical school), K-12 outreach, and informal education level. JMBE is edited by informed science educators who are active in the pursuit of scholarly teaching and biology education reform."
- Natural Sciences Education
"Natural Sciences Education covers many academic disciplines, publishing articles for educators in the areas of natural resources, plant science, entomology, animal science, ecology, and the environment. Several cooperating institutions are involved in its publication."
- Chemistry Education Research and Practice
Chemistry Education Research and Practice (CERP) is the journal for teachers, researchers and other practitioners at all levels of chemistry education.
- Chemistry Teacher International
"Chemistry Teacher International (CTI) is a peer-reviewed Open Access journal from the Committee on Chemistry Education of IUPAC. The journal aims to be a platform for teachers of all levels, focusing on researchers in chemistry education."
-
The Journal of Chemical Education publishes peer-reviewed articles and related information as a resource to those in the field of chemical education and to those institutions that serve them. The journal typically addresses chemical content, laboratory experiments, instructional methods, and pedagogies.
The American Journal of Science (AJS), founded in 1818 by Benjamin Silliman, is the oldest scientific journal in the United States that has been published continuously. The Journal is devoted to geology and related sciences and publishes articles from around the world presenting results of major research from all earth sciences. Readers are primarily earth scientists in academia and government institutions.
The Annual Review of Earth and Planetary Sciences, in publication since 1973, covers significant developments in all areas of earth and planetary sciences, from climate, environment, and geological hazards to the formation of planets and the evolution of life.
Astronomy Education Review is an online journal for those interested in astronomy and space science education, in either formal or informal settings. It includes refereed journal articles on the results of astronomy education research.
Earth Science Reviews publishes review articles dealing with all aspects of Earth Sciences, and is an important vehicle for allowing readers to see their particular interest related to the Earth Sciences as a whole.
A peer-reviewed quarterly journal made by the National Earth Science Teachers Association with special sponsored editions freely available. Focuses on providing exemplary tested classroom activities & resources for K-12 ESS educators, proven innovations in pedagogical approaches for the ESS classroom, and updates on in-depth science content relevant to K-12 ESS curriculum.
The International Research in Geographical & Environmental Education publishes quality research studies within the context of geographical and environmental education. The journal endeavours to promote international interest and dissemination of research in the field, provides a forum for critique, and demonstrates the relevance of research studies to good professional practice.
The Journal of Geography publishes innovative approaches to geography, research, teaching, and learning.
- Journal of Geoscience Education
The National Associate of Geoscience Teacher (NAGT)'s peer-reviewed publication for geoscience education research, and serves as an international forum for research concerning the pedagogy, assessment, and philosophy of teaching and learning about the geosciences and related domains.
The Pennsylvania Geographer is a journal that publishes research related to Geography, Planning and Development. Its publishers promote effective teaching, research, and literacy in geography.
- American Journal of Physics
"The mission of the American Journal of Physics (AJP) is to publish articles on the educational and cultural aspects of physics that are useful, interesting, and accessible to a diverse audience of physics students, educators, and researchers. Our audience generally reads outside their specialties to broaden their understanding of physics and to expand and enhance their pedagogical toolkits at the undergraduate and graduate levels."
-
Physical Review: Physics Education Research
"Physical Review Physics Education Research (PRPER) covers the full array of experimental and theoretical research relating to the teaching and learning of physics and astronomy. PRPER is the only fully open access journal for physics education research."
-
Physical Review Special Topics: Physics Education Research
A peer-reviewed journal that will, "...cover the teaching and/or learning of physics and the full range of experimental and theoretical research. Review articles, replication studies, descriptions of the development and use of new assessment tools, presentation of research techniques, and methodology comparisons/critiques are welcomed."
-
Physics Education is the international journal for everyone involved with the teaching of physics in schools and colleges. The articles reflect the needs and interests of secondary school teachers, teacher trainers and those involved with courses up to introductory undergraduate level.
- The Physics Teacher
Publishes peer-reviewed papers on the teaching of introductory physics and on topics such as contemporary physics, applied physics, and the history of physics. Dedicated to strengthening the teaching of introductory physics at all levels, including secondary schools.
Journal Spotlight: The Science Teacher
- The Science TeacherNSTA's award-winning, peer-reviewed practitioner journal for secondary level and high school science teachers.
How to Search in The Science Teacher
- Click the link for The Science Teacher above.
- Under the View Online section, select the link for "EBSCOhost Education Full Text"
- Log-in with Central Login if prompted.
- You now have two main options for how to search through this publication:
- Browse by issue
- Search by keyword or NGSS.
Browse by Issue
- All Issues and Articles are listed in a column to the right. Newer issues are at the top. Select the year you are interested in browsing to see the volume and issue numbers.
- Choose the issue you want to open.
- Browse through a list of all articles in that issue.
Search by Keyword/Topic
- Rather than selecting an issue number, select "Search within this publication" linked above the publication details.
- You will see an advanced search box with the first row already saying JN "Science Teacher". Do not delete this.
- Add keywords or standards (ex. HS-PS1-2) to the following rows that act as search terms focusing in on your topic. If searching by standard, change the "Select a Field (optional)" dropdown to "TX All Text Fields."
- Refine your results using the options to the left of your search results as needed. You will likely want to focus the publication date to more recent publications.
- Click the title of an article of interest to see more information, such as the abstract.
- To access the full-text of an article select the linked HTML or PDF full text or click the Find It button.
Depending on the journal, you may be able to use exactly the same search process as outlined above for The Science Teacher or things may work slightly differently. However, they usually have similar functionalities that aim to be intuitive. If you do run into trouble, reach out to one of the Secondary Sciences librarians.