These websites were identified for having classroom materials that could be used to inform your practice as an educator or could be used directly with students in the classroom. An emphasis was placed on websites with lesson plans, activity ideas, and simulations/interactive materials.
This box includes websites with lesson planning ideas and inspiration that cover multiple scientific disciplines. For something that is specific to a discipline (such as physics, chemistry, etc.), explore the dropdown boxes below.
Explore example science interactives that cover topics like the rocky cycle, physics at amusement parks, and more.
A large collection of free videos, lesson plans, interactive tools, and more. Science content covers earth and space science; life science; physical science; practices and nature of science; and instrumentation, measurements, and units. Filter by grade level and type of resource.
A collection of science simulations for physics, chemistry, math, earth science, and biology. Compatible with HTML5, Java, and Flash
Filter national geographic resources by grade, resource type, and subject to find relevant classroom materials.
Wealth of (mostly free) information and resources for STEM education, this digital library acts as an "aggregator" for partner content. From their website: "Most resources in the library adhere to principles of Open Educational Resource (OER) access, although some resources are restricted to provider site membership, or may have a cost associated with them (indicated in the full record of the resource)."
"These classroom resources, including lesson plans, book chapters, videos, simulations, and more—are compiled by NSTA curators. While these resources are not yet considered to be “fully aligned” to the NGSS, the curators provide guidance on how to adapt them" [from source].
A contribution-based websites where science teachers share their materials with each other. Filter by grade level, subject area, resource type, and standards alignment.
"The STEM Teaching Tools site has tools that can help you teach science, technology, engineering and math (STEM). We are currently focused on supporting the teaching of the Next Generation Science Standards (NGSS). Each tool is focused on a specific issue and leverages the best knowledge from research and practice" [from source].
Includes lessons plans, worksheets, tutorials, and resources for biology teachers and students.
An AP Biology review website geared towards both students and teachers of the subject. Covers molecular biology, anatomy concepts and physiology, life and evolution, genetics, organization of living systems, hereditary, cells, biological development, and ecology.
Find high school biology resources such as activities, videos, and interactive media that are filterable by biological topic.
Interactive tutorials created for the biology classroom that rely on gametes of sea urchins.
Classroom resources such as activities, animations, demonstrations, labs, lesson plans, projects, simulations, and videos organized and searchable by grade level, resource type, and topic.
Resources for teaching chemistry organized both by topic and type.
A collection of interactive simulations to help demonstrate chemistry concepts to students.
A site developed primarily to support chemistry instructors at the University of Oregon, but made publicly available for science instructors broadly.
A teacher guide focused on how to use articles in the chemistry classroom when lesson planning in addition to building teacher subject expertise.
Chemistry classroom resources for teachers, students, and students' families gathered and curated by the National Science Foundation.
Chemistry Education resources for various topics and education levels from the Royal Society of Chemistry.
Gathered together by the American Chemistry Society, "From lesson plans and classroom activities to textbooks and multimedia, ACS has a wide variety of chemistry education resources to meet your needs."
"This collection includes all the major map based concepts found in a typical middle or high school earth science course– topography, earthquakes, volcanoes, oceans, weather, and climate."
Modules on topics such as climate change, freshwater, land management, and more that use interactive computer-based systems models and real-world data.
National Center for Earth and Space Science Education
"...content includes a library of Grade K-12 compendia of lessons, an extensive array of presentations designed for audience participation, and engaging reading at Blog on the Universe, where you’ll find posts and essays on Earth and space, and science education."
"Education resources are distributed across many websites and program offices at NOAA and partner websites. This portal is designed to help you access these resources from one location. Materials are organized by themes aligned with common teaching topics."
"Digi Kits are vetted collections that include a hands-on, inquiry-driven activity inspired by articles from The Physics Teacher journal, digital resources that support student and teacher learning, and are aligned closely to the Framework for K-12 Science Education and NGSS performance expectations."
A teacher-created repository of cross-platform programs that demonstrate major physics concepts. Resources include labs, tools, games, homework assignments, and more.
Resources made to support physics instruction and comprehension, including curriculum guides, review materials, worksheets, interactives, videos, and more.
A resource recommended by AAPT for being, "the best of the best, vetted resources from around the web. Sign in to the system to create your own collections of lesson plans, websites, and multimedia for K-12 physics."
A website created by Dr. Andrew Duffy at Boston University that includes simulations, problems, and pre-lab assignments for a year of physics.
A recommendation from AAPT to, " learn about research-based teaching methods that have evolved out of physics education research, as well as to get curricular supports, access diagnostic and concept tests, and get training through video workshops."
Illinois State University
Campus Box 8900
201 North School Street
Normal, Il 61790-8900
Have comments or questions about our guides?
Please contact Instruction and Student Engagement: