This page presents examples of government, non-governmental, and inter-governmental sites available on these topics. There may be some overlap between the different sections of this page, as well as some overlap between this tab and the Museums tab.This is not an exhaustive list. If you find something that should be added, please let me know.
Milner Government Databases
- HeinOnline AcademicFull text database focused on legal information from journals, federal laws, regulations, case law, reports and opinions of the U.S. Attorney General, and the U.S. State Department's Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS). Help documentation available here.
- ProQuest CongressionalCompilation of U.S. House and Senate publications from hearings, committees, and other documents. Includes full text to the US Serial Set. (Help with database)
Inter-Governmental Organizations
- United Nations Office on Genocide Prevention and the Responsibility to Protect"The Office on Genocide Prevention and the Responsibility to Protect supports two Special Advisers who report directly to the United Nations Secretary-General: The Special Adviser on the Prevention of Genocide and The Special Adviser on the Responsibility to Protect. The mandates of the two Special Advisers are distinct but complementary. In order to maximise efficiency and resources, the Secretary-General decided to institutionalize the collaboration between the Special Advisers through the establishment of a joint office. As far as possible, the two Advisers share a common methodology for early warning, assessment, convening, learning, and advocacy, as well as a common office and staff based in New York."
- UN Digital LibraryOnline database for UN documents. Using the Advanced Search feature will make it much easier to search/browse for documents.
- International Organization for Migration"Established in 1951, IOM is the leading inter-governmental organization in the field of migration and works closely with governmental, intergovernmental and non-governmental partners."
- International Criminal CourtTrying individuals for genocide, war crimes, crimes against humanity, and aggression
- International Criminal Court UN War Crimes Commission documentsSelect United Nations War Crimes Commission on the right side of the page to filter results just to that.
- InterpolINTERPOL is the world’s largest international police organization, with 190 member countries. Our role is to enable police around the world to work together to make the world a safer place. Our high-tech infrastructure of technical and operational support helps meet the growing challenges of fighting crime in the 21st century.
Non-Governmental Organizations
- Aegis Trust"The Aegis Trust has a clear mission – to work towards the prediction, prevention and ultimate elimination of genocide. We do this primarily through research, education and the dissemination of information and advice."
- Amnesty InternationalAmnesty International keeps vigilant watch on the rights of people around the world and publishes hundreds of independent reports based on our rigorous research, free of corporate and government influence.
- Human Rights WatchEach year, Human Rights Watch publishes more than 100 reports and briefings on human rights conditions in some 90 countries, generating extensive coverage in local and international media. With the leverage this brings, Human Rights Watch meets with governments, the United Nations, regional groups like the African Union and the European Union, financial institutions, and corporations to press for changes in policy and practice that promote human rights and justice around the world.
- International Center for Transitional Justice"The International Center for Transitional Justice works for justice in countries that have endured massive human rights abuses under repression and in conflict. We work with victims, civil society groups, national, and international organizations to ensure redress for victims and to help prevent atrocities from happening again."
- The National Security ArchiveFounded in 1985 by journalists and scholars to check rising government secrecy, the National Security Archive combines a unique range of functions: investigative journalism center, research institute on international affairs, library and archive of declassified U.S. documents ("the world's largest nongovernmental collection" according to the Los Angeles Times), leading non-profit user of the U.S. Freedom of Information Act, public interest law firm defending and expanding public access to government information, global advocate of open government, and indexer and publisher of former secrets.
Inter-Governmental Sites
- The Holocaust and the United Nations Outreach Programme"The Holocaust and the United Nations Outreach Programme seeks to remind the world of the lessons to be learnt from the Holocaust in order to help to prevent future acts of genocide."
- NATONorth Atlantic Treaty Organization
- Council of EuropeFocused on human rights, cultural identities, democratic stability and economic growth in Europe.
- International Criminal Court UN War Crimes Commission documentsSelect United Nations War Crimes Commission on the right side of the page to filter results just to that.
Non-Governmental Resources
- Holocaust Education - Anti-Defamation LeagueThe Anti-Defamation League’s Braun Holocaust Institute, Glick Center for Holocaust Studies, provides education and resources that help educators and students study the history of the Holocaust and apply its lessons to contemporary issues of responsible citizenship, moral decision making, prejudice, hate, and genocide.
- World Jewish Congress"The World Jewish Congress is the international organization that represents Jewish communities and organizations in 100 countries around the world. It advocates on their behalf towards governments, parliaments, international organizations and other faiths. The WJC represents the plurality of the Jewish people, and is politically non-partisan."
Government Sites
- National Commission for the Fight against Genocide"The National Commission for the Fight against Genocide was established by Law Nº09/2007 of 16/02/2007, which stipulates that the commission is a National, independent and permanent institution. It has a legal status and Administrative and financial autonomy. The Commission shall particularly collaborate with the Ministry having the memory in its attribution."
- State Department Human Rights Report - Rwandaprevious years reports available through archival site (https://2009-2017.state.gov/j/drl/rls/hrrpt//index.htm)
- Rwanda - Law Library of Congressoverview of different government resources for Rwanda.
Inter-Governmental Sites
- African UnionA" continental body consisting of the 55 member states that make up the countries of the African Continent. It was officially launched in 2002 as a successor to the Organisation of African Unity (OAU, 1963-1999)."
- UN Economic Commission for Africa"Established by the Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC) of the United Nations (UN) in 1958 as one of the UN's five regional commissions, ECA's mandate is to promote the economic and social development of its member States, foster intra-regional integration, and promote international cooperation for Africa's development."
- International Residual Mechanism for Criminal Tribunals (International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda)"The United Nations Security Council established the International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda to "prosecute persons responsible for genocide and other serious violations of international humanitarian law committed in the territory of Rwanda and neighbouring States, between 1 January 1994 and 31 December 1994". The Tribunal is located in Arusha, Tanzania, and has offices in Kigali, Rwanda. Its Appeals Chamber is located in The Hague, Netherlands."
Non-Governmental Sites
- The US and the Genocide in Rwanda 1994National Security Archive
- The Rwandan Crisis Seen Through the Eyes of FranceNational Security Archive
Government Sites
- State Department Human Rights Report - CambodiaPrevious years available through archive site (https://www.state.gov/reports/2019-country-reports-on-human-rights-practices/cambodia/)
- Cambodia - Law Library of Congressoverview of different government resources for Cambodia.
Inter-Governmental Sites
- Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific"The Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (ESCAP) serves as the United Nations’ regional hub promoting cooperation among countries to achieve inclusive and sustainable development. The largest regional intergovernmental platform with 53 Member States and 9 associate members, ESCAP has emerged as a strong regional think-tank offering countries sound analytical products that shed insight into the evolving economic, social and environmental dynamics of the region."
- Association of Southeast Asian NationsFocused on economic growth and political stability based on law and the principles of the UN Charter.
- Extraordinary Chambers in the Courts of Cambodia"The Extraordinary Chambers in the Courts of Cambodia (ECCC) is a special Cambodian court which receives international assistance through the United Nations Assistance to the Khmer Rouge Trials (UNAKRT). The court is also informally known as the Khmer Rouge Tribunal or the Cambodia Tribunal."
Non-Governmental Sites
- Cambodia - Center for Justice and AccountabilityOrganization with the mission to deter torture, war crimes, crimes against humanity, and other severe human rights abuses around the world through innovative litigation, policy, and transitional justice strategies.Presents information and documents about Khmer Rouge.
- Khmer Rouge Trials - International Justice MonitorWar crimes. Crimes against humanity. Genocide. The International Justice Monitor offers news and analysis of some of the most significant trials of our time.
- Cambodia - International Center for Transitional Justice"After a quarter-century of conflict, Cambodia is now bringing Khmer Rouge officials suspected of mass atrocities to justice. ICTJ has supported both victims and the court in efforts to see justice served."
Government Sites
- State Department Human Rights Report - Chileprevious years available at archive site (https://2009-2017.state.gov/j/drl/rls/hrrpt//index.htm)
- Chile - Law Library of Congressoverview of different government resources for Chile.
Inter-Governmental Sites
- Organization of American StatesThe Organization of American States is the world’s oldest regional organization, dating back to the First International Conference of American States, held in Washington, D.C., from October 1889 to April 1890. That meeting approved the establishment of the International Union of American Republics, and the stage was set for the weaving of a web of provisions and institutions that came to be known as the inter-American system, the oldest international institutional system.
- Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean"The Economic Commission for Latin America (ECLA) -the Spanish acronym is CEPAL- was established by Economic and Social Council resolution 106(VI) of 25 February 1948 and began to function that same year. The scope of the Commission's work was later broadened to include the countries of the Caribbean."
Non-Governmental Sites
- Chile - Center for Justice and AccountabilityOrganization with the mission to deter torture, war crimes, crimes against humanity, and other severe human rights abuses around the world through innovative litigation, policy, and transitional justice strategies.Presents information and documents about Chilean Civil War and the crimes that occurred throughout.
- The Ripple Effect of the Pinochet CaseGlobal Policy Forum
Government Sites
- State Department Human Rights Report - Guatemalaprevious years available at archive site (https://2009-2017.state.gov/j/drl/rls/hrrpt//index.htm)
- Guatemala - Law Library of Congressoverview of different government resources for Guatemala
Inter-Governmental Sites
- Organization of American StatesThe Organization of American States is the world’s oldest regional organization, dating back to the First International Conference of American States, held in Washington, D.C., from October 1889 to April 1890. That meeting approved the establishment of the International Union of American Republics, and the stage was set for the weaving of a web of provisions and institutions that came to be known as the inter-American system, the oldest international institutional system.
- Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean"The Economic Commission for Latin America (ECLA) -the Spanish acronym is CEPAL- was established by Economic and Social Council resolution 106(VI) of 25 February 1948 and began to function that same year. The scope of the Commission's work was later broadened to include the countries of the Caribbean."
Non-Governmental Sites
- Guatemala - Center for Justice and AccountabilityOrganization with the mission to deter torture, war crimes, crimes against humanity, and other severe human rights abuses around the world through innovative litigation, policy, and transitional justice strategies.Presents information and documents about Guatemalan genocide.
- Guatemala Trials - International Justice MonitorWar crimes. Crimes against humanity. Genocide. The International Justice Monitor offers news and analysis of some of the most significant trials of our time.
- Guatemala - International Center for Transitional Justice"Human rights and victims organizations in Guatemala have worked tirelessly to achieve important victories in the fight against impunity, but much remains to be done to achieve accountability and redress for violations during three decades of internal armed conflict. ICTJ has worked here to assist with reparations and criminal justice initiatives. "
Searching for Government Documents at Milner
Milner has a fairly robust collection of government documents, though there is a focus on collecting US documents. The catalog does have an option to search only for government publications. To get to that setting, click the advanced Search link in the Milner Catalog tab.
Use advanced search to search the catalog. On the search results page, select the Availability dropdown list on the right side of the page and select Floor 4: Federal Documents Shelves to limit results just to government documents.
**Note: Items cataloged within our Gov Docs section have call numbers that look a bit different than traditional call numbers, called SuDoc numbers. They are organized by the agency that created the document instead of the content within the document. Two examples:
- "Elie Wiesel genocide and atrocities prevention report" has the SuDoc number: PR 45.8:EL 4 - PR is the acronym for President of the United States.
- "Iraq and Syria Genocide Relief and Accountability Act of 2018" has the SuDoc number: AE 2.110:115-300 - AE is the acronym for the National Archives.
For more information about Milner's Gov Doc collection, check out our Government Information guide.
Data and Social Sciences Librarian
Chad Kahl
he / him / his