This page presents examples of museums, memorials, cultural heritage sites, and digitized archives available on these topics. There may be some overlap between the different sections of this page, as well as some overlap between this tab and the government sites. This is not an exhaustive list. If you find something that should be added, please let me know.
United States
- Illinois Holocaust Museum and Education Center"The mission of Illinois Holocaust Museum & Education Center is expressed in our founding principle: Remember the Past, Transform the Future. The Museum is dedicated to preserving the legacy of the Holocaust by honoring the memories of those who were lost and by teaching universal lessons that combat hatred, prejudice and indifference. The Museum fulfills its mission through the exhibition, preservation and interpretation of its collections and through education programs and initiatives that foster the promotion of human rights and the elimination of genocide."
- United States Holocaust Memorial Museum"Located among our national monuments to freedom on the National Mall, the Museum provides a powerful lesson in the fragility of freedom, the myth of progress, and the need for vigilance in preserving democratic values. With unique power and authenticity, the Museum teaches millions of people each year about the dangers of unchecked hatred and the need to prevent genocide."
- The Avalon Project - The International Military Tribunal for GermanyDigitized documents from Yale Law School's Lillian Goldman Law Library.
- Nuremberg Trials Project"The Harvard Law School Library's Nuremberg Trials Project is an open-access initiative to create and present digitized images or full-text versions of the Library's Nuremberg documents, descriptions of each document, and general information about the trials."
International
- British Library - Voices of the HolocaustVoices of the Holocaust consists of oral history testimonies gathered from Jewish men and women who came to live in Britain during or after WWII. These testimonies are personal, individual, true stories, that describe the hardships of life during Hitler's reign.
- Yad Vashem - The World Holocaust Remembrance Center"Yad Vashem, the World Holocaust Remembrance Center, is the ultimate source for Holocaust education, documentation, commemoration and research. From the Mount of Remembrance in Jerusalem, Yad Vashem's integrated approach incorporates meaningful educational initiatives, groundbreaking research and inspirational exhibits. Its use of innovative technological platforms maximizes accessibility to the vast information in the Yad Vashem archival collections for an expanding global audience. Yad Vashem is at the forefront of unceasing efforts to safeguard and impart the memory of the victims and the events of the Shoah period; to document accurately one of the darkest chapters in the history of humanity; and to grapple effectively with the ongoing challenges of keeping the memory of the Holocaust relevant today and for future generations"
- Massuah - International Institute for Holocaust Studies"Massuah, International Institute for Holocaust Studies, designed to evoke discourse on the significance of the Holocaust in our contemporary society and culture."
- Polish Center for Holocaust Research"The Polish Center for Holocaust Research was established on 2 July 2003, as a section of the Institute of Philosophy and Sociology of the Polish Academy of Sciences. It is the first and so far the only research institution in Poland dealing exclusively with Holocaust studies. This is the fundamental difference between the Center and the above institutions."
- Holocaust Education & Archive Research TeamThe aim of H.E.A.R.T is to inform and educate people about the Holocaust and the extermination programs conducted by the Nazi regime throughout Europe during the Second World War.
H.E.A.R.T research and material is contributed from a group of independent Holocaust researchers who devote their spare time to research for the production of this website and other forms of related publications, such as leaflets and books. - Jewish Museum Berlin"Since opening its doors in 2001, the Jewish Museums Berlin has joined the ranks of Europe’s leading museums. We are a place of active reflection on Jewish history and culture—on the diversity of Jewish perspectives as well as the history of the relationship between Jews and their non-Jewish environments. With this orientation as a starting point, we also focus on the topics of migration and diversity, and questions of coexistence in contemporary society."
- Memorial to the Murdered Jews of Europe"The purpose of the foundation is to commemorate the National Socialist genocide against the Jews of Europe. The foundation helps to ensure the memory of all victims of National Socialism and their appreciation in an appropriate manner."
- Memorial and Museum: Auschwitz-Birkenau"The Auschwitz Memorial preserves two parts of the former German Nazi camp."
- The Kigali Genocide MemorialThe Kigali Genocide Memorial includes three permanent exhibitions, the largest of which documents the 1994 Genocide against the Tutsi. There is also a children’s memorial and an exhibition on the history of genocidal violence around the world. The education centre, gardens, and Genocide Archive of Rwanda contribute to a meaningful tribute to those who perished, and provide a powerful educational experience for visitors.
- Genocide Archive of RwandaWelcome to the Genocide Archive of Rwanda website. Here you will find our digital collection of items related to the 1994 Genocide against the Tutsi in Rwanda, pre-genocide history and post-genocide reconstruction processes. Our materials are also preserved and accessible at our physical archive which is located at the Kigali Genocide Memorial.
- Rwanda Documents Project" The Rwanda Documents Project was started by Professor Peter Erlinder of William Mitchell College of Law in St. Paul, Minnesota as a result of his work as a defense attorney at the International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda. The goal of the Project is to collect and make available primary source materials from international and national agencies, governments, and courts that relate to the political and social history of Rwanda from 1990 to the present. "
- Rwanda Radio TranscriptsCompiled by Concordia University's Montreal Institute for Genocide and Human Rights Studies
- Declassified Documents Concerning RwandaFrom Clinton Presidential Library archive
- Tuol Sleng Genocide Museum"The Tuol Sleng Genocide Museum is the memorial site of the S-21 interrogation and detention center of the Khmer Rouge regime. Located in the heart of Phnom Penh, it preserves a tragic period in history with the aim to encourage visitors to be messengers of peace."
- The Killing Fields Museum"The Killing Fields Memorial Museum was founded by Dara Duong, a survivor from the 1975-1979 Killing Fields of Cambodia. There were five family members including his father that were killed by the Khmer Rouge (Pol Pot) regime"
- Documentation Center of CambodiaThe Documentation Center of Cambodia (DC-Cam) is the world’s largest repository of printed documents and other original documentary materials relating to the DK regime. The materials in our archives are consequently of the utmost historical interest and may serve as important evidentiary materials in any accountability process relating to the Democratic Kampuchea regime.
- The Museum of Memory and Human Rights"The Museum of Memory and Human Rights seeks to draw attention to human rights violations committed by the Chilean state between 1973 and 1990. Its mission is to allow dignity for victims and their families, stimulate reflection and debate and to promote respect and tolerance in order that these events never happen again."
- The Chile Documentation Project (National Security Archive)"For more than a decade, the Chile Documentation Project set a standard for declassified evidence and impact, becoming a model for responding to challenges and opportunities for truth, justice, and accountability in Peru, Brazil, and Bolivia, where the Archive has also pursued substantive declassification projects."
- Pinochet Files - Richard Nixon Presidential LibrarySome archived documents coming from the Nixon Presidential library pertaining to the United States' involvement with Pinochet.
- The Guatemala Project (National Security Archive)"The National Security Archive launched the Guatemala Documentation Project in 1994, after peace negotiators seeking to end Guatemala’s 36-year armed conflict agreed to establish a truth commission. The project's first objective was to support the human rights investigations of the UN-sponsored Historical Clarification Commission by forcing the declassification and release of secret U.S. government files on decades of repression and state violence in Guatemala." Through George Washington University
- Digital Archive of the Guatemalan National Police Historical Archive"A product of broad international collaboration, these digitized documents from the Guatemalan National Police Historical Archive (AHPN) aim to facilitate scholarly and legal research into a vast cache of historical documentation. The discovery of the National Police Historical Archive in 2005 opened an extensive and timely resource for the study of Guatemalan history and human rights in the region, spanning a broad array of topics from Guatemala's armed conflict between 1960 and 1996 to the sexually transmitted disease experiments performed at the behest of the United States government in the 1940s. This site currently includes over 10 million scanned images of documents from the National Police Historical Archive. This digital archive mirrors and extends the physical archive that remains preserved in Guatemala as an important historical patrimony of the Guatemalan people." Through University of Texas
- Civil War, Society and Political Transition in Guatemala : the Guatemala News and Information Bureau Archive (1963-2000)"The Guatemala News and Information Bureau (GNIB) was an activist and solidarity group based in San Francisco, California, created in 1978 to support and inform the public about Guatemalan movements for peace and justice, indigenous rights, and labor rights. To support its activities, the GNIB systematically collected a wide variety of materials documenting all aspects related to the civil war in that country, including human rights abuses and the social and political responses to state sponsored violence. Also documented were the negotiations and the implementation of the Peace Accords signed in the mid 1990s. The result was an unparalleled archive of gray literature (published and unpublished documents, pronouncements, action alerts, press releases, flyers, newsclippings, correspondence, and other types of ephemeral material), serials, and policy reports representing the actions and views of activist groups, government officers and politicians, journalists, international solidarity groups, as well as revolutionary organizations. The Princeton University Library digitized over 11,000 items from the archive in collaboration with the Cooperative Digitization of International Research Materials (CDIRM) project, organized by the Council of American Overseas Research Centers (CAORC)." Princeton
- Guatemala: Memory of SilenceReport by Guatemala's historical Clarification Commission
- Country Case Studies - US Holocaust Memorial Museum"The cases here represent areas of focus for the Simon-Skjodt Center and are not an exhaustive list of mass atrocities in the past and present. You will find information here on historical cases of genocide and other atrocities, places where mass atrocities are currently underway or populations are under threat, and areas where early warning signs call for concern and preventive action."
- Genocide Documentation Project (national securiity archive)"The Genocide Documentation Project launched in January 2013 in partnership with the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum and explores the failures of the international community to prevent or effectively respond to past cases of genocide. Through detailed case studies of Srebrenica, Rwanda, and Darfur, the project examines the role of the international community in these incidents of genocidal violence and helps shape the views of a new generation of policymakers both within the United States and around the world."
- Mass Atrocity Endings - Tufts UniversityThis website provides case studies of endings (alpha listing of cases) assembled in this of “very massive atrocities,” defined as widespread and systematic killing of unarmed people (civilians or prisoners of war) within a single country resulting in at least 50,000 civilian fatalities in cases post-1945.
Data and Social Sciences Librarian
Chad Kahl
he / him / his