Education
On this page you will find a sampling of resources related to Systemic Racism and Education, broken down into the following sections:
Issues in Education: All White Faculty, Bullying, Censorship, Charter Schools, Critical Race Theory, Cultural Competence, Curricular Racism, Deficit Narratives, Digital Divide, Disciplinary Practices and Policy, Discrimination, Disenfranchisement, Environmental Racism, Eurocentric Curriculum, Exclusion, Funding, Gap, Harassment, Inclusion, Inequitable Access, Linguistic Discrimination, Low Teacher Expectations, Out-of-School Suspensions, Policy, Pollution, Privatization, Resource Disparities, Retention, School Closure, School-to-Prison Pipeline, School Reform, Segregation, Talented and Gifted Program, Technology Segregation, Transgender Student Rights
Keywords for Social Justice/Anti-Oppression Searches: Anti-Black, Association Between, Bias, Discrimination, Disparity, Disproportionate, Effect, Gap, High Rate, Impact, Inequity, Inequality, Institutionalized Racism, Oppression, Racial Inequity, Racist, Racism, Unconscious Bias, Violence, White Supremacy
Books
Video Clips
Source: AJ+ (2017, May 27). Why American Public Schools Are Failing Students. YouTube. https://youtu.be/K2658IoJVxQ
Source:Reuters. (2021, September 22). What is 'critical race theory'? YouTube. https://youtu.be/57kVvE97nI4
Source: Vox. (2020, October 8). How US schools punish Black kids. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lFJ37ri-Saw
Source: NYT Opinion. (2020,March 17). How Coronavirus Racism Infected My High School. YouTube. https://youtu.be/f5ccbJcqlUo
Source: NowThis News. (2019, January 23). How Black High School Students Are Hurt by Modern-Day Segregation. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=od3s3lZWbWM
Source: Focused.Arts.Media.Education. (2017, May 14). Microaggressions in the Classroom. YouTube: https://youtu.be/ZahtlxW2CIQ
Source: Black Linguistic Justice. (2020, April 18). Linguistic Justice: Black Language, Literacy, Identity, and Pedagogy. YouTube. https://youtu.be/BmbzPzip4Fs
Source: TED. (2019, Feb. 5). Why black girls are targeted for punishment at school -- and how to change that | Monique W. Morris. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g7F9XCdeOtw
Source: Education Week. (2016). Bettina Love: On Black Girls, Discipline, and Schools. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_HCqUClUWlc
Source: TEDx Talks. (2018, May 23). Why English Class is Silencing Students of Color | Jamila Lyiscott. YouTube https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u4dc1axRwE4
Podcasts
Black History Year
Episode: Critical Race Theory and The Obstruction of Black Education
At Liberty
Episode: How To End the Preschool to Prison Pipeline
Code Switch
Episode: A Tale of Two School Districts
Black Gaze
Episode: Black Preservice Teachers
At Liberty
Episode: Teaching the Truth about Race in America (CRT)
UnPublic
Episode: Are school districts in liberal cities inequitable by design?
The Kicker
Episode: Inside the toxic mediasphere of Black exceptionalism
Code Switch
Episode: The Passing of a "Failing" School
At Liberty
Episode: School Segregation 65 Years After Brown v. Board
Justice In America
Episode: School to Prison Pipeline
School Colors
A narrative podcast about how race, class, and power shape American cities and schools.
At Liberty
Episode: Reframing and Re-learning American History With Nikole Hannah-Jones
In the Thick
Episode: Educating for the Status Quo
Black Gaze
Episode: Myths and Complexities of the Black Teacher Shortage
Vox Conversations
Episode: Nikole Hannah-Jones on the 1619 project
What's Next?
Episode: The War Over Critical Race Theory
Street Politicians
Episode: Covid Impact on Education
Articles
Did you know you have free access to the New York Times? Register for your free account with your ISU email!
- (2023) Florida's AP African American studies ban should raise alarm elsewhere, lawmaker says| NPR
- (2023) Muzzled by DeSantis, Critical Race Theory Professors Cancel Courses or Modify Their Teaching | ProPublica
- (2022) What’s Actually Being Taught in History Class | New York Times
- (2021) ‘Channeling the Mama Bear’: How Covid Closures Became Today’s Curriculum Wars | New York Times
- (2022) White Parents Rallied to Chase a Black Educator Out of Town. Then, They Followed Her to the Next One. | ProPublica
- (2022) A Chilling New Florida Law Will Survey University Students and Faculty About Their Political Beliefs| Slate
- (2021) Teachers Say Laws Banning Critical Race Theory Are Putting A Chill On Their Lessons | NPR
- (2021) Effective Anti-Racist Education Requires More Diverse Teachers, More Training | NPR
- (2019) 'Grit Is in Our DNA': Why Teaching Grit Is Inherently Anti-Black | Education Week
- (2019) The missing pieces of America’s education | Washington Post
- (2022) How COVID taught America about inequity in education | Harvard Gazette
- (2020) Hotter Days Widen Racial Gap in U.S. Schools, Data Shows | New York Times
- (2018) Miseducation: Is There Racial Inequality at Your School? | ProPublica
- (2019) How Much Wealthier Are White School Districts Than Nonwhite Ones? $23 Billion, Report Says | New York Times
- (2020) Navajo Families Without Internet Struggle To Home-School During COVID-19 Pandemic | NPR
- (2021) New Data Highlight Disparities In Students Learning In Person | NPR
- (2020) The Students Left Behind by Remote Learning | ProPublica
- (2017) How The Systemic Segregation Of Schools Is Maintained By 'Individual Choices' | NPR
- (2018) A National Survey of School Desegregation Orders | ProPublica
- (2020) 4 Ways Racial Inequity Harms American Schoolchildren | NPR
- (2020) Why U.S. Schools Are Still Segregated — And One Idea To Help Change That | NPR
- (2018) We can draw school zones to make classrooms less segregated. This is how well your district does. | Vox
- (2018) ‘You Are Still Black’: Charlottesville’s Racial Divide Hinders Students | New York Times
- (2019) Smaller communities are “seceding” from larger school districts. It’s accelerating school segregation. | Vox
- (2019) Separate and Unequal Schools | NPR
- (2023) Strife in the Schools: Education Dept. Logs Record Number of Discrimination Complaints | New York Times
- (2023) ‘Get Your Hands Off Me’: Student Arrest Puts Role of School Police Under Scrutiny | New York Times
- (2023) A School Superintendent Says Our Story About Expulsions in His District Is Incorrect. Here’s Why He’s Wrong. | ProPublica
- (2021) Schools Use Software That Blocks LGBTQ+ Content, But Not White Supremacists | Vice News
- (2018) ‘I Feel Invisible’: Native Students Languish in Public Schools | New York Times
- (2021) Black Children Were Jailed for a Crime That Doesn’t Exist. Almost Nothing Happened to the Adults in Charge. | ProPublica
- (2020) Texas School Board Keeps Grooming Code That Led To Suspension Of Black Students | NPR
- (2020) This Is the Casual Racism That I Face at My Elite High School | New York Times
Scholarship
- (2021) Inequalities on the Digital Campus | by Alice Quach
- (2022) Public School Funding, School Quality, and Adult Crime| by Joshua Hyman
- (2020) Unregulated Open Enrollment and Inequitable Access to Schools of Choice | by Sarah Winchell Lenhoff
- (2018) Geographic and social disparities in exposure to air neurotoxicants at U.S. public schools | Sara Grineski
- (2020) Structural Racism in Schools: A View through the Lens of the National School Social Work Practice Model. | Jandel Crutchfield
- (2018) Educational Inequality, Educational Expansion, and Intergenerational Income Persistence in the United States. | by Deirdre Bloome
- (2014) Still Separate, Still Unequal: The Relation of Segregation in Neighborhoods and Schools to Education Inequality| by Odis Johnson, Jr.
- (2021) Interrogating the "gold standard": Play-based early childhood education and perpetuating white supremacy | by Timothy Kinard
- (2018) Oppressive Curriculum: Sexist, Racist, Classist, and Homophobic Practice of Dress Codes in Schooling| by Rouhollah Aghasaleh
- (2020) Integrating "White" America through the Erosion of White Supremacy: Promoting an Inclusive Humanist White Identity in the United States | Lawrence R. Baca
- (2021) Racial experiences of pre-service teachers. | Timothee Berry
- (2022) A Guided History into Racist Curriculum, Pedagogy, and Policy: Then and Now. | John Bickford
- (2020) Education Policy and Black Teachers: Perspectives on Race, Policy, and Teacher Diversity | by Terrenda White
- (2017) Racism? Administrative and Community Perspectives in Data-Driven Decision Making: Systemic Perspectives Versus Technical-Rational Perspectives | by Muhammad A. Khalifa
- (2021) Policy as Punishment and Distraction: The Double Helix of Racialized Sexual Harassment of Black Girls | by Jennifer Wilmot
- (2018) Refusing Relevance: School Administrator Resistance to Offering Professional Development Addressing LGBTQ Issues in Schools. | Elizabethe C. Payne
- (2021) The Retention of Educators of Color Amidst Institutionalized Racism. | Ain A. Grooms
- (2020) School procedural justice and being pushed out: examining the intersection of sex and race/ethnicity. | by Kay Varela
- (2022) The School-Prison Trust | by Sabina Vaught
- (2019) A Mixed Methods Study of Black Girls' Vulnerability to Out-of-School Suspensions: The Intersection of Race and Gender | by Priscilla Gibson
- (2019) National Analysis of the Disciplinary Exclusion of Black Students With and Without Disabilities | by Nicholas A. Gage
- (2020) A Phenomenological Study of Racial Harassment in School and Emotional Effects Among the Retrospective Accounts of Older Black Adolescents
- (2016) The Punishment Gap: School Suspension and Racial Disparities in Achievement. | by Edward W. Morris
- (2020) Achievement may be rooted in teacher expectations: examining the differential influences of ethnicity, years of teaching, and classroom behaviour. | Agnes Flanagan
- (2017) Student Surveillance, Racial Inequalities, and Implicit Racial Bias | Jason P. Nance
Documentaries
Ask a Milner Librarian
Recommended Databases
-
Academic Search UltimateA scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database of sources including peer-reviewed journals, magazines, newspapers, books, ebooks, reports, and conference proceedings.
-
APA PsycInfoPremier full text psychology database includes journal articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations.
-
Criminal Justice Abstracts with full textFull text database for criminology and related disciplines and includes journals, books, and reports from government and nongovernmental agencies.
-
Education SourceFull text database includes journals, conference papers, videos, and more in all levels of education research and specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
-
PAIS Index
Citation database focused on public affairs, public and social policies, and international relations and includes journals, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, and conference papers. Some full text available.
-
SocINDEXFull text database for sociology and all sub-disciplines and includes journal articles, books, conference papers, and author profiles cover topics like abortion, crime, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, social problems, substance abuse and violence.
-
Social Work Abstracts
Citation social work database covering topics such as homelessness, AIDS, child and family welfare, aging, substance abuse, legislation, and community organization. Limited to eight simultaneous users.
-
Sociological Abstracts (SocAbs)
Citation database covering all aspects of sociology and related disciplines and includes journals, books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and working papers.