Mass Culture
On this page you will find a sampling of resources related to Systemic Racism and Mass Culture, broken down into the following sections:
Issues in Mass Culture: Black Erasure, Blackfishing, Cinema, Consumer Culture, Cultural Appropriation, Cultural Politics, Culture Wars, Digital Black Face, Digital Racism, Diversity, Eurocentric Beauty Standards, Film and Video, Intersectional Representation, Mass Media, Media Narratives, Media Psychology, Media Studies, Minorities in Motion Pictures, Misrepresentation, Online Environments, Popular Culture, Queer Erasure, Racial Tropes, Representation, Serialized Dramas, Social Media, Stereotypes, Television, Tokenism, Type Casting, Viral Black Death, Visual Culture, White Gaze, White Savior Films
Keywords for Social Justice/Anti-Oppression Searches: Anti-Black, Association Between, Bias, Discrimination, Disparity, Disproportionate, Effect, Gap, High Rate, Impact, Inequity, Inequality, Institutionalized Racism, Oppression, Racial Inequity, Racist, Racism, Unconscious Bias, Violence, White Supremacy
Video Clips
Source: MoveOn. (2018, May 30). How pop culture shapes reality - and stereotypes. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=osOLFcoC_Rc
Source: Vice Asia. (2020, January 21). What’s the Difference Between Appropriation and Appreciation? YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I1JCWc7s6FY
Source: Al Jazeera English. (2020, July 26). Mammy, Jezebel and Sapphire: Stereotyping Black women in media. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2teqoyPe3TU
Source: New York Times. (2017, November 28). The White Internet’s Love Affair with Digital Blackface. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5qm0LwUHDqE
Source: AJ+ (2018, March 4). The Negative Effects Of The 'Strong Black Woman' Stereotype. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OlYSzI8fX9o
Source: Now This Entertainment. (2019, December 24). How Asian Representation in Movies & TV Changed This Decade. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HnHUHI5ra08
Source: AJ+ (2017, November 10). What Happened To The Golden Age Of Black Sitcoms? YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CEiXGrqoFMs
Books
Podcasts
Black History Year
Episode: Destroying the Narrative White Hollywood Created
At Liberty
Episode: The Movement to Erase Black History and Culture
Mentor's Circle
Episode: Unpacking Stories and Stereotypes that Harm Black Women
Intersectionality Matters
Episode: Engendering the Politics of the Black Athlete
At Liberty
Episode: How the Olympics Failed Black Women
Still Processing
Episode: 40 Acres and a Movie
Black History Year
Episode: Decoding the Racism in Advertising and Entertainment with Professor Gene Shelton
Code Switch
Episode: From Blackface to Blackfishing
Roxane Gay Agenda
Episode: Not All Art
TransLash
Episode: Trans Visibility with Leyna Bloom
Intersectionality Matters
Episode: #MeToo and Black Women: From Hip Hop to Hollywood
At Liberty
Episode: Disability Representation and Identity
Still Processing
Episode: Reparations for Aunt Jemima!
Intersectionality Matters
Episode: Storytelling While Black and Female
New Hollywood
Episode: Mj Rodriguez
#TellBlackStories
An extension of Color Of Change's work to change the rules in Hollywood, and entire media landscape, to ensure accurate, diverse, empathetic and human portrayals of Black people.
Momentum: A Race Forward
Episode: Superheroes and Representation in the Comic Book Universe
While Black
Episode: Reclaiming Our Stories w/ Martina Abrahams Ilunga
Being Seen
Episode: Hollywood
Code Switch
Episode: The Racial Reckoning That Wasn't
AFROPUNK Solution Sessions
Episode: Digital Blackness 2.0
Articles
Did you know you have free access to the New York Times? Register for your free account with your ISU email!
- (2021) Filmmakers Call Out PBS For A Lack Of Diversity, Over-Reliance On Ken Burns | NPR
- (2019) 8 black women on how they're portrayed in pop culture | i-D
- (2021) The Complicated Relationship Between Hollywood, Asian Representation, and Marvel’s 'Shang-Chi' | Vice
- (2020) The problematic history of trans characters on screen is laid out in Netflix's 'Disclosure' | Insider
- (2018) Invisibility is the Modern Form of Racism Against Native Americans | Teen Vogue
- (2020) Presence vs. representation: Report breaks down LGBTQ visibility on TV | NBC News
- (2021) A Vision of Asian-American Cinema That Questions the Very Premise | New York Times
- (2021) Why Are There No Filipino Nurses on Medical TV Shows? | Colorlines
- (2021) What Pose Revealed About the Way Hollywood Works | them.
- (2019) The Uphill Battles of Black Talent Agents in Hollywood | New York Times.
- (2020) “The Bold Type” Shouldn’t Endanger Queer Black People for Entertainment | Teen Vogue.
- (2022) Lil Nas X Doubles Down On Criticism Of BET Awards| Buzzfeed
- (2019) How capitalism reduced diversity to a brand | Vox.
- (2019) Unmasking Hollywood Horror’s Racial Stereotypes | Frieze Magazine
- (2021) Black TikTok Creators Are On Strike To Protest A Lack Of Credit For Their Work | NPR
- (2015) Nicki Minaj: Black Women ‘Rarely Rewarded’ for Pop Culture Contributions | New York Times
- (2017) In Movies and on TV, Racism Made Plain | New York Times
- (2021) The Olympics Don’t Care About Black Athletes. They Never Did. | Refinery
- (2020) Dismantling 'The Bachelor's' Racist And Sexist Elements Has Only Just Begun | NPR
- (2019) ‘They Set Us Up to Fail’: Black Directors of the ’90s Speak Out | New York Times
- (2021) Minari Wasn't Just Snubbed Best Picture at the Golden Globes. It Was Excluded From the Start. | Esquire
- (2020) Black filmmakers and executives get honest about their experiences in Hollywood | Los Angeles Times
- (2020) Angelica Ross Says She Was Misgendered and Mistreated on Set of Claws | them
- (2018) The Chun Li Challenge is the Latest Example of Pop Culture Stereotyping Asian Culture | Teen Vogue
- (2020) From Prince to Whitney to Nicki: The Plight of the Black Pop Star | Vice
- (2021) Months after TikTok apologized to Black creators, many say little has changed | NBC News
- (2017) Golden Globes snubbed 'Girls Trip' because Hollywood cannot handle black joy | NBC News
- (2022) Facebook fails again to detect hate speech in ads | AP News
- (2020) TikTok and the Evolution of Digital Blackface | Wired
- (2017) We Need to Talk About Digital Blackface in Reaction GIFs | Teen Vogue
- (2018) White girls reinventing themselves as black women on instagram has to stop | I-D
- (2017) Campus Hate Lives on the Internet. Administrators Need to Catch Up. | New York Times
- (2016) When black death goes viral, it can trigger PTSD-like trauma | PBS Newshour
- (2020) For Black Americans, Using Social Media Means Risking PTSD | Slate
- (2020) Racial Trauma in the Age of Social Media | Medium
- (2017) I Don’t Want to Watch Slavery Fan Fiction | New York Times
- (2020) The Problem With ‘Anti-Racist’ Movie Lists | New York Times
- (2020) The Unintended Racial Horror of ‘Lovecraft Country’ | New York Times
- (2021) “Of Women and Salt” Treats Immigrant Mothers as More Than Martyrs | b*tch media
- (2021) You Say You Want a Revolution: The United States vs. Black Icons | Vanity Fair
Scholarship
- (2016) Equal Access to Exploitation and Joy: Women of Color and Hollywood Stereotype | Celine Parreñas Shimizu
- (2019) Black Feminists in Serialized Dramas: The Gender/Sex/Sexuality/Race Politics of Being Mary Jane and Scandal. | Kay Siebler
- (2015) 'Frozen in Time': The Impact of Native American Media Representations on Identity and Self-Understanding. | Peter Leavitt | Justin M. Feldman
- (2014) Pushing into Precious: Black Women, Media Representation, and the Glare of the White Supremacist Capitalist Patriarchal Gaze | by Rachel Alicia Griffin
- (2017) Subordinates, Sex Objects, or Sapphires? Investigating Contributions of Media Use to Black Students’ Femininity Ideologies and Stereotypes about Black Women | by Morgan Jerald
- (2015) “Styled by Their Perceptions”: Black Adolescent Girls Interpret Representations of Black Females in Popular Culture. | Gholnecsar E. Muhammad.
- (2019) The Stigmatization of Queer Black Women in Television. | Thomas Cruz
- (2021) Spectacularized and Branded Digital (Re)presentations of Black People and Blackness. | Francesca Sobande
- (2021) Black hair in the media: Racial portrayals are more than skin deep. | Christine McWhorter
- (2019) Black Struggle Film Production: Meta-Synthesis of Black Struggle Film Production and Critique Since the Millennium. | Robert Cummings
- (2017) (Un)necessary Procedures: Black Women, Disability, and Work in Grey’s Anatomy. | Sarah Orem
- (2020) Black Panther, queer erasure, and intersectional representation in popular culture | Michaela D. E. Meyer
- (2012) Interracial Intimacy: Hegemonic Construction of Asian American and Black Relationships on TV Medical Dramas. | Myra Washington
- (2020) Nothing Sells like Whiteness: Race, Ontology, and American Advertising. | Shalini Shankar
- (2018) A Call to Action for Video Game Studies in an Age of Reanimated White Supremacy | TreaAndrea M. Russworm
- (2021) Exposure to ethnic discrimination in social media and symptoms of anxiety and depression among Hispanic emerging adults: Examining the moderating role of gender | Miguel Ángel Cano
- (2016) Inter-ideological mingling: White extremist ideology entering the mainstream on Twitter| Roderick Graham
- (2020) Race in Cyberspace: College Students' Moral Identity and Engagement with Race-Related Issues on Social Media | by Vandna Gill Bindra
- (2018) Race, Gender, and the Technological Turn: A Roundtable on Digitizing Revolution | by Dorothy Kim
- (2020) Black Memes Matter: #LivingWhileBlack With Becky and Karen | Apryl Williams
- (2015) The supremacy of online white supremacists - an analysis of online discussions by white supremacists | Megan Wong
- (2018) Faith and reason: An analysis of the homologies of Black and Blue Lives Facebook pages | Mary Angela Bock
- (2020) Collective Matters in the Contemporary American Personal Documentary: Meditations on Racism, Whiteness and Masculinities| Gabriel Kitofi Tonelo
- (2019) Black queer womanhood matters: searching for the queer herstory of Black Lives Matter in television dramas | , Jade D. Petermon
- (2018) Power in the Visual: Examining Narratives of Controlling Black Bodies in Contemporary Gaming | by Kishonna L. Gray
- (2020) Nothing Sells like Whiteness: Race, Ontology, and American Advertising. | Shalini Shankar
- (2007) Emotional Segregation: A Content Analysis of Institutional Racism in US Films, 1980-2001 | by Angie K. Beeman
- (2019) White Innocence and Black Subservience: The Rhetoric of White Heroism in The Help. | Mollie K. Murphy
Ask a Milner Librarian
Recommended Databases
- Academic Search UltimateA scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database of sources including peer-reviewed journals, magazines, newspapers, books, ebooks, reports, and conference proceedings.
- APA PsycInfoPremier full text psychology database includes journal articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations.
- Business Source UltimateFull text database of business information including scholarly journals, books, author profiles, and company information. Includes full access to Harvard Business Review.
- Communication SourceFull text database focusing on Communication, Linguistics, Rhetoric and Discourse, Speech-Language Pathology, Media Studies, and other fields / disciplines.
- Criminal Justice Abstracts with full textFull text database for criminology and related disciplines and includes journals, books, and reports from government and nongovernmental agencies.
- Film & Television Literature Index with Full TextFull text journal articles related to film and television.
- Humanities International CompleteFull text database covering all aspects of the humanities.
- SocINDEXFull text database for sociology and all sub-disciplines and includes journal articles, books, conference papers, and author profiles cover topics like abortion, crime, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, social problems, substance abuse and violence.