News and Media
On this page you will find a sampling of resources related to Systemic Racism and News Media, broken down into the following sections:
Issues in Journalism and News Media: Accountability, Analysis, Citizen Journalism, Communication, Comparative Coverage, Crime Reporting, Digital Culture, Discourse Control, Framing, Hierarchy, Ideologies, Implicit Bias, Invisibility, Language, Linguistic Bias, Linguistic Representation, Mass Media, Missing-White-Woman Syndrome, News Production, Newsworthiness, Privilege, Protest Repression, Racial Stereotypes, Racialized Media, Representation, Rhetoric, Selection Bias, Social Media, Television News, Unconscious Bias, Victim Blaming, Visual Profiling, Visual Representation, White Nationalist Media
Keywords for Social Justice/Anti-Oppression Searches: Anti-Black, Association Between, Bias, Discrimination, Disparity, Disproportionate, Effect, Gap, High Rate, Impact, Inequity, Inequality, Institutionalized Racism, Oppression, Racial Inequity, Racist, Racism, Unconscious Bias, Violence, White Supremacy
Video Clips
Source: Vox. (2020, June 5). Protests aren't what they look like on TV. YouTube.https://youtu.be/srnA3cNTsXQ
Source: AJ+. (2022, July 19). Crime Reporting Makes Us Love The Cops. YouTube. https://youtu.be/Rou7IqZ_7Yw
Source: CNN. (2021, September 22). How 'missing White woman syndrome' has real life implications. YouTube. https://youtu.be/uBWyG09rAMc
Source: PBS NewsHour. (2019, August 4). How media coverage contributes to white supremacist rhetoric. YouTube. https://youtu.be/Mqe2vxxQMwc
Source: Thomson Reuters Foundation. (2020, July 6). Unconscious Bias: do newsrooms struggle to report on race issues? YouTube. https://youtu.be/hvybXx0WjeY
Books
Podcasts
We Live Here
Episode: Black Journalists Covering Race, Identity & Culture
Colorblind
Episode: Black and Missing
At Liberty
Episode: Policing the Press: A Journalist on the Frontlines
The Kicker
Episode: Violence Bait
The Laverne Cox Show
Episode: Pushing Back Against Anti-Trans Media & Policies with Chase Strangio
Carnegie Council
Episode: Protests in Perspective
Intersectionality Matters
Episode: The Lies They Tell: Mass Media's Complicity in the Age of Disinformation
It's All Journalism
Episode:Journalists aren't as good at covering protests as they may believe
The Kicker
Episode: Racism, Atlanta, and the Race for a Narrative
On the Media
Episode: The View From Everywhere
The Daily
Episode: The Legacy of Rush Limbaugh
The Kicker
Episode: Inside the toxic mediasphere of Black exceptionalism
Articles
Did you know you have free access to the New York Times? Register for your free account with your ISU email!
- (2018) Women Of Color Are Severely Underrepresented In Newsrooms, Study Says | NPR
- (2018) When newsrooms are dominated by white people, they miss crucial facts | Gaurdian
- (2019) Why Some Journalists Have A Hard Time Saying The Word 'Racist' | NPR
- (2020) Soledad O’Brien: A MeToo Moment for Journalists of Color | New York Times
- (2016) The Enduring Whiteness of the American Media | The Gaurdian
- (2020) Black Journalists Weigh In On A Newsroom Reckoning | NPR
- (2021) We Owe It to Women Journalists to Protect Them from Harassment | b*tch media
- (2020) Black Journalists Hope Media's Racial Reckoning Can Create Change | Teen Vogue
- (2023) New York Times' stories on trans youth slammed by writers — including some of its own| NPR
- (2022) The Pervasiveness Of Racism And Bias In The Media| Forbes
- (2023) Trans people deserve better journalism | Vox
- (2021) Missing White Woman Syndrome: The Silent Epidemic| An Injustice Mag
- (2021) Media Fascination With The Petito Mystery Looks Like Racism To Some Native Americans| NPR
- (2021) Media bias delegitimizes Black-rights protesters | Nature
- (2016) Why Some Police Shootings Get Media Attention While Others Don't | NPR
- (2015) Shooters of color are called 'terrorists' and 'thugs.' Why are white shooters called mental ill? | Washington Post
- (2020) A Reckoning Over Objectivity, Led by Black Journalists | New York Times
- (2020) Reckoning With Race in Journalism | NPR
- (2017) News media offers consistently warped portrayals of black families, study finds | Washington Post
- (2016) Media coverage of protests sure looks different when demonstrators are white | Vox
- (2018) How The Media Covers White Supremacists | NPR
- (2020) Families of missing black Americans fight for media, police to focus on their loved ones' cases | ABC News
- (2019) Black trans women want the media to show them living, not just dying | Vox
- (2018) Examining the Racial and Gender bias in the Media: Police Crime Reporting | Medium
- (2018) What the Media Gets Wrong About Trans Murders | them.
- (2022) 5 tips for covering racial bias in health care AI | Journalist's Resource
- (2020) I Cover Cops as an Investigative Reporter. Here Are Five Ways You Can Start Holding Your Department Accountable. | ProPublica
- (2019) How news organizations should cover white supremacist shootings, according to a media expert | PBS News Hour
- (2020) Journalists are reexamining their reliance on a longtime source: The police | Washington Post
- (2021) The Media Is Still Reckoning With How to Cover Police Killings | Vanity Fair
- (2018) Deadnamed | ProPublica
- (2021) Police Reports Shouldn’t Set the News Agenda: A Guide to Avoiding Systemic Racism in Reporting | ABA
- (2021) Police Reports Are Biased. What Can Journalists Do To Better Cover Policing? | NPR
- (2021) A Massive Fail on Crime Reporting by The New York Times, NPR | The Nation
- (2015) Why TV News Ignores Transgender Murders | The Advocate
Scholarship
- (2021) Protest Coverage Matters: How Media Framing and Visual Communication Affects Support for Black Civil Rights Protests | Danielle Kilgo
- (2022) Police Brutality and Racial Justice Narratives Through Multi-Narrative Framing: Reporting and Commenting on the George Floyd Murder on YouTube. | Richard N. Canevez
- (2016) Writing in the Margins: Mainstream News Media Representations of Transgenderism.| Thomas Billard
- (2021) Police Violence and Protests: Digital Media Maintenance of Racism, Protest Repression, and the Status Quo. | Danielle Kilgo
- (2022) Police Brutality and Racial Justice Narratives Through Multi-Narrative Framing: Reporting and Commenting on the George Floyd Murder on YouTube. | Richard N. Canevez
- (2019) Protests, Media Coverage, and a Hierarchy of Social Struggle | by Danielle K. Kilgo
- (2017) Missing White Woman Syndrome: An Empirical Analysis of Race and Gender Disparities in Online News Coverage of Missing Persons| Zach Sommers
- (2019) On the Erasure of race in control culture discourse: a case study of Trayvon Martin's role in the Black Lives Matter movement | Eduard Fabregat
- (2018) Visibly Unknown: Media Depiction of Murdered Transgender Women of Color | Frank Wood
- (2018) Beyond Black and White: An Analysis of Newspaper Representations of Alleged Criminal Offenders Based on Race and Ethnicity. | Alayna Colburn
- (2016) Thugs, Crooks, and Rebellious Negroes: Racist and Racialized Media Coverage of Michael Brown and the Ferguson Demonstrations | Bryan Adamson
- (2019) The Black Lives Matter movement, crime and police brutality: Comparative study of New York Post and New York Daily News. | Brian Chama
- (2017) Black Racial Stereotypes and Victim Blaming: Implications of Media Coverage and Criminal Proceedings in Cases of Police Violence Against Racial and Ethnic Minorities | by Kristin Nicole Dukes
- (2013) Covering Victims in the News: What Makes Minority Homicides Newsworthy? | Jeff Gruenewald
- (2018) Disciplining Black Activism: Post-Racial Rhetoric, Public Memory and Decorum in News Media Framing of the Black Lives Matter Movement | by Chloe Banks
- (2017) Framing Ferguson: Fox News and the construction of US racism | Colleen Mills
- (2014) International Protest Events and the Hierarchy of Credibility: Media Frames Defining the Police and Protestors as Social Problems | Jennifer L. Schulenberg
- (2003) The Newsworthiness and Selection Bias in News about Murder: Comparative and Relative Effects of Novelty and Race and Gender Typifications on Newspaper Coverage of Homicide | Richard J. Lundman
- (2021) When is the “Racist” Designation Truly Applicable? News Media’s Contribution to the Debatability of Racism | Danielle Kilgo
- (2021) Reporting on transgender victims of homicide: Practices of misgendering, sourcing and transparency. | Natalee Seely
- (2014) International Protest Events and the Hierarchy of Credibility: Media Frames Defining the Police and Protestors as Social Problems | Jennifer L. Schulenberg
- (2019) Martin to Brown: How time and platform impact coverage of the Black Lives Matter movement | Danielle K. Kilgo
- (2020) It's okay to be White: laundering White supremacy through a colorblind victimized White race-consciousness raising campaign. | Marcus Brooks
- (2016) Nobody’s business? White male privilege in media coverage of intimate partner violence. | Joanna Rae Pepin
- (2015) Priming Implicit Racism in Television News: Visual and Verbal Limitations on Diversity | by John Sonnett
- 2017) Black Racial Stereotypes and Victim Blaming: Implications of Media Coverage and Criminal Proceedings in Cases of Police Violence Against Racial and Ethnic Minorities | by Kristin Nicole Dukes
- (2015) The Changing Misrepresentation of Race and Crime on Network and Cable News | Travis Dixon
- (2021) Protest Coverage Matters: How Media Framing and Visual Communication Affects Support for Black Civil Rights Protests | Danielle Kilgo
- (2017) News Framing of Obama, Racialized Scrutiny, and Symbolic Racism | by Srividya Ramasubramanian
- (2019) Protests, Media Coverage, and a Hierarchy of Social Struggle | by Danielle K. Kilgo
- (2018) Disciplining Black Activism: Post-Racial Rhetoric, Public Memory and Decorum in News Media Framing of the Black Lives Matter Movement | by Chloe Banks
- (2016) From "brute" to "thug:" The demonization and criminalization of unarmed Black male victims in America | Calvin John Smiley
- (2018) Visibly Unknown: Media Depiction of Murdered Transgender Women of Color | Frank Wood
- (2020) Far-Right Media as Imitated Counterpublicity: A Discourse Analysis on Racial Meaning and Identity on Vdare.com. | by Jeff Tischauser
Documentaries
Ask a Milner Librarian
Recommended Databases
- Academic Search UltimateA scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database of sources including peer-reviewed journals, magazines, newspapers, books, ebooks, reports, and conference proceedings.
- APA PsycInfoPremier full text psychology database includes journal articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations.
- Business Source UltimateFull text database of business information including scholarly journals, books, author profiles, and company information. Includes full access to Harvard Business Review.
- Communication SourceFull text database focusing on Communication, Linguistics, Rhetoric and Discourse, Speech-Language Pathology, Media Studies, and other fields / disciplines.
- Criminal Justice Abstracts with full textFull text database for criminology and related disciplines and includes journals, books, and reports from government and nongovernmental agencies.
- Education Full TextFull text database includes journals and educational tests covering special education, adult education, multicultural/ethnic education, and teaching methods.
- Film & Television Literature Index with Full TextFull text journal articles related to film and television.
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
Citation database focusing on research in linguistics, phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, and semantics.
- SocINDEXFull text database for sociology and all sub-disciplines and includes journal articles, books, conference papers, and author profiles cover topics like abortion, crime, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, social problems, substance abuse and violence.