Technology and Big Data
On this page you will find a sampling of resources related to Systemic Racism and Technology, broken down into the following sections:
Issues in Technology: Algorithmic Bias, Automated Decision-making Tools, Big Data, Censorship, Eugenics, Data Sharing, Discriminatory Design, Digital Colonialism, Digital Divide, Facial Recognition, Geospatial Policing, Predictive Policing, Scientific Racism, Racial Coding, Racialized Surveillance, Regulation, Shadow Banning
Keywords for Social Justice/Anti-Oppression Searches: Anti-Black, Association Between, Bias, Discrimination, Disparity, Disproportionate, Effect, Gap, High Rate, Impact, Inequity, Inequality, Institutionalized Racism, Oppression, Racial Inequity, Racist, Racism, Unconscious Bias, Violence, White Supremacy
Video Clips
Source: The Laura Flanders Show (2019, January). Automating Inequality: Virginia Eubanks. YouTube. https://youtu.be/ADYxJU0WyJA
Source: BBC Reel. (2021, June 4). What is Data Colonialism? YouTube. https://youtu.be/Pt1q_AuvTGE
Source: Vox. (2021, March 31). Are We Automating Racism? YouTube. https://youtu.be/Ok5sKLXqynQ
Source: AJ+. (2018, June 5.) Why You Should Worry About Facial Recognition Software. YouTube. https://youtu.be/0JupZy4LJ50
Source: Vera Institute of Justice. (2018, March 26). Sarah Brayne on Police Surveillance in the Age of Big Data. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mgx2n3Cb-D8
Source: TED. (2018, October 18). How To Stop Artificial Intelligence From Marginalizing Communities? | Timnit Gebru. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PWCtoVt1CJM
Source: TEDx. (2014, April 18). How biased are our algorithms? | Safiya Umoja Noble. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UXuJ8yQf6dI&feature=emb_logo
Books
Podcasts
At Liberty
Episode: Google This: Algorithmic Oppression
U Albany New Podcast
Episode: Automating Inequality, with Virginia Eubanks
Race and Regulation
Episode: Racial Equity and Data Privacy
At Liberty
Episode: Glitch in the Code: Black Girls and Algorithmic Justice
Get Wired
Episode: The Racist History of Surveillance Tech
Data and Society
Episode: Data and Racial Capitalism
Interstitial
Episode: Digitize and Punish
At Liberty
Episode: Meet the Students Who Are Taking on Comcast
Reasonably Speaking
Episode: Race and Predictive Policing
At Liberty
Episode: The Threat of Facial Recognition
Data and Society
Episode: Lawgorithms
At Liberty
Episode: Discrimination in the Digital Age
Articles
Did you know you have free access to the New York Times? Register for your free account with your ISU email!
- (2021) Understanding The Technical And Societal Relationship Between Shadowbanning And Algorithmic Bias| Forbes
- (2021) TikTok Influencer Of Color Faced `Frustrating’ Obstacle Trying To Add The Word ‘Black’ To His Creator Marketplace Bio| Forbes
- (2020) Vice urges advertisers to stop blocking 'Black Lives Matter' and related keywords | NBC News
- (2017) Facebook’s Secret Censorship Rules Protect White Men From Hate Speech But Not Black Children | ProPublica
- (2020) Instagram users trying to post about Black Lives matter see ‘action blocked’ messages | Gaurdian
- (2021) Schools Use Software That Blocks LGBTQ+ Content, But Not White Supremacists | Vice
- (2021) Black Creators On TikTok Say Their Accounts Are Being Banned For Strange And Unjust Reasons | Buzzfeed News
- (2014) Want to Predict the Future of Surveillance? Ask Poor Communities| American Prospect
- (2019) The Racist History Behind Facial Recognition | New York Times
- (2022) ICE Searched LexisNexis Database Over 1 Million Times in Just Seven Months| Intercept
- (2022) Facebook and Anti-Abortion Clinics Are Collecting Highly Sensitive Info on Would-Be Patients | Reveal
- (2020) Twitter Surveillance Startup Targets Communities of Color for Police | The Intercept
- (2019) As Cameras Track Detroit’s Residents, a Debate Ensues Over Racial Bias | New York Times
- (2020) Police Surveilled George Floyd Protests With Help From Twitter-Affiliated Startup Dataminr | Intercept
- (2019) TSA Agents Say They’re Not Discriminating Against Black Women, But Their Body Scanners Might Be | ProPublica
- (2019) When Transgender Travelers Walk Into Scanners, Invasive Searches Sometimes Wait on the Other Side | ProPublica
- (2021) How the LAPD and Palantir Use Data to Justify Racist Policing | Intercept
- (2020) Google AI Tech Will Be Used for Virtual Border Wall, CBP Contract Shows | Intercept
- (2020) The Microsoft Police State: Mass Surveillance, Facial Recognition, and the Azure Cloud | Intercept
- (2021) How US Parole Apps Created Digital Prisoners | Gaurdian
- (2021) LexisNexis to Provide Giant Database of Personal Information to ICE | Intercept
- (2021) Revealed: Facebook’s Secret Blacklist of “Dangerous Individuals and Organizations”| Intercept
- (2020) AI algorithms intended to root out welfare fraud often end up punishing the poor instead | Chicago Reporter
- (2021) For Black kidney patients, an algorithm may help perpetuate harmful racial disparities | Washington Post
- (2020) Google Researcher Says She Was Fired Over Paper Highlighting Bias in A.I. | New York Times
- (2020) When Bias Is Coded Into Our Technology | NPR
- (2021) Who Is Making Sure the A.I. Machines Aren’t Racist? | New York Times
- (2020) Many Medical Decision Tools Disadvantage Black Patients | New York Times
- (2020) Black creators sue YouTube, alleging racial discrimination | Washington Posts
- (2020) Wrongfully Accused by an Algorithm | New York Times
- (2021) We Need Laws to Take On Racism and Sexism in Hiring Technology | New York Times
- (2021) TikTok algorithm error sparks allegations of racial bias | NBC News
- (2022) AI Colonialism | MIT Technology Review
- (2020) Navajo Families Without Internet Struggle To Home-School During COVID-19 Pandemic | NPR
- (2021) New Data Highlight Disparities In Students Learning In Person | NPR
- (2020) The Students Left Behind by Remote Learning | ProPublica
- (2020) Who Gets 5G — And Who Gets Left Behind — Has Some Worried About Digital Inequality | NPR
Scholarship
- (2021) Ghosts of white methods? The challenges of Big Data research in exploring racism in digital context | Kaarina Nikunen
- (2022) Situating questions of data, power, and racial formation | Renee Shelby
- (2020) Where Platform Capitalism and Racial Capitalism Meet: The Sociology of Race and Racism in the Digital Society | Tressie McMillan Cottom
- (2013) Google Search: Hyper-visibility as a Means of Rendering Black Women and Girls Invisible | Safiya U. Noble
- (2013) 'Why Do White People Have Thin Lips?' Google and the Perpetuation of Stereotypes via Auto-Complete Search Forms | Paul Baker
- (2020) Technologically scaffolded atypical cognition: the case of YouTube’s recommender system| Mark Alfano
- (2016) Racist in the Machine: The Disturbing Implications of Algorithmic Bias | Megan Garcia
- (2017) Semantics derived automatically from language corpora contain human-like biases | Aylin Caliskan
- (2016) When the Algorithm Itself is a Racist: Diagnosing Ethical Harm in the Basic Components of Software | by Christian Sandvig
- (2020) The YouTube Algorithm and the Alt-Right Filter Bubble | Lauren Valentino Bryant
- (2019) Challenging Racist Predictive Policing Algorithms Under the Equal Protection Clause | Renata O'Donnell
- (2020) Fusing Race: The Phobogenics of Racializing Surveillance | by Marnie Ritchie
- (2020) Geographies of Algorithmic Violence: Redlining the Smart City | Sara Safransky
- (2018) Policing, data, and power-geometry: intersections of crime analytics and race during urban restructuring | Brian Jordan Jefferson
- (2019) Race, Again: How Face Recognition Technology Reinforces Racial Discrimination | Fabio Bacchini
- (2016) Predictable Policing: Predictive Crime Mapping and Geographies of Policing and Race
- (2019) Race Science and Surveillance: Police as the New Race Scientists | Natalie Byfield
- (2018) Racialized Surveillance: Activist Media and the Policing of Black Bodies. | Gino Canella
- (2020) Fusing Race: The Phobogenics of Racializing Surveillance | Marnie Ritchie
- (2021) Digital Disenfranchisement and COVID-19: Broadband Internet Access as a Social Determinant of Health| Jody Early
- (2019) Digital colonialism: US empire and the new imperialism in the Global South | Michael Kwet
- (2016) Beyond access: barriers to internet health information seeking among the urban poor | Rachel McCloud
- (2021) Digital inequality, faculty communication, and remote learning experiences during the COVID-19 pandemic: A survey of U.S. undergraduates. | Vikki Katz
Documentaries
Ask a Milner Librarian
Recommended Databases
-
Academic Search UltimateA scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database of sources including peer-reviewed journals, magazines, newspapers, books, ebooks, reports, and conference proceedings.
-
APA PsycInfoPremier full text psychology database includes journal articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations.
-
Criminal Justice Abstracts with full textFull text database for criminology and related disciplines and includes journals, books, and reports from government and nongovernmental agencies.
-
EconLitFull text database of economics including journals, books, dissertations, and working papers.
-
Education SourceFull text database includes journals, conference papers, videos, and more in all levels of education research and specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
-
Health Source Consumer EditionFull text database of consumer health information from magazines covering topics such as the medical sciences, food sciences, nutrition, childcare, sports medicine, and general health.
-
HeinOnline AcademicFull text database focused on legal information from journals, federal laws, regulations, case law, reports and opinions of the U.S. Attorney General, and the U.S. State Department's Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS). Help documentation available here.
-
PAIS Index
Citation database focused on public affairs, public and social policies, and international relations and includes journals, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, and conference papers. Some full text available.
-
Social Work Abstracts
Citation social work database covering topics such as homelessness, AIDS, child and family welfare, aging, substance abuse, legislation, and community organization. Limited to eight simultaneous users.
-
SocINDEXFull text database for sociology and all sub-disciplines and includes journal articles, books, conference papers, and author profiles cover topics like abortion, crime, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, social problems, substance abuse and violence.
-
Sociological Abstracts (SocAbs)
Citation database covering all aspects of sociology and related disciplines and includes journals, books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and working papers.