Style Guides
Click an image to go to the guide for that style.
APA
MLA
Chicago
Scientific
AMA
Writing Guides
-
A manual for writers of research papers, theses, and dissertations : Chicago Style for students and researchers
Call Number: Floor 2 Reference LB2369 .T8 2018Publication Date: 2018Also known as "Turabian," this guide helps researchers form a strong research question, construct an evidence-based argument, cite their sources, and structure their work in a logical way, -
A Short Guide to Writing about Music
by
Call Number: Floor 6 Shelves ML3797 .B4 2007ISBN: 9780321187918Publication Date: 2006A Short Guide to Writing about Music examines a wide range of writing tasks for undergraduate, graduate and professional writing, including how to approach, research, and write about music. -
Writing about Music
by
Call Number: Floor 6 Shelves ML3797 .W54 2009ISBN: 9780136157786Publication Date: 2007Helping users write clear, convincing, persuasive prose on musical topics, this practical guide focuses on general writing issues as well as special challenges of writing about music-with clear, step-by-step explanations of the process of writing a paper, including basic writing skills, research, organization, drafting and editing. -
Writing about Music
by
Call Number: Floor 6 Shelves ML3797 .W75 2008ISBN: 9780520256187Publication Date: 2008-07-01This book covers some of the thorniest issues of musical discourse: how to go about describing musical works and procedures in prose, the rules for citations in notes and bibliography, and proper preparation of such materials as musical examples, tables, and illustrations. One section discusses program notes, another explains the requirements for submitting manuscripts and electronic files. A new section outlines best practices for student writers. An appendix lists common problem words.
Overview of Citing & Managing Sources
Learn about why we cite the sources we use, common styles for references and citations, and strategies for avoiding plagiarism.
- Style Guides
A list of commonly used styles: APA, MLA, Chicago / Turabian, Scientific and Medical. Select the style you need to get help on in-text citing and formatting your bibliography. - Manage Sources / Create References
Provides a list of recommended tools to create a bibliography of references, facilitate in-text citing, and manage sources. - Why Cite Sources
Provides reasons to cite sources, a quick list showing the difference between an in-text citation vs a reference list, and parts of a reference. - Avoiding Plagiarism
Learn common strategies for avoiding plagiarism, the definition of what is plagiarism, five tips for avoiding plagiarism, examples of plagiarism, and a look at copyright. - Database Exporting & Cite Functions
A table showing which databases provide a feature for creating a pre-formatted reference. - DOIs
A quick overview on interpreting and finding DOIs.