Relatively current coverage of opera, jazz, popular music, music education, theory, and musicology. Particularly strong coverage of jazz, performance, and music education titles. Scholarly and trade journals. Some full text and some citation.
A small but mighty offering of full-text music journals - Opera Quarterly, American Music, Asian Music, Black Music Research Journal, Computer Music Research Journal, Latin American Music Review, and Music, Sound, and the Moving Image.
Digital archive of US and UK trade magazines, film fan magazines, and music press titles providing comprehensive information on specific films, plays, theaters, actors, directors, TV series, film studios, musicians, genres, record labels, subcultures and youth movements.
Additional topics: movies, cinema, entertainment, vaudeville, silent movies
The library's most comprehensive streaming audio database. As of fall 2015, NML has nearly 113,000 albums and almost 1.7 million tracks of primarily classical music. Includes labels like Sony Classical, Albany, EMI, Harmonia Mundi, Naive, and Warner Classics. You can create your own playlists or use NML's free app on your mobile device -- just sign up for an account.
Scholarly database of streamed recordings that focus on American composers, performers, and ensembles. DRAM features CD-quality audio, liner notes, and labels such as New World Records, Composers Recordings, and Cedille Records.
Streaming video database of concert orchestral, chamber music, and choral ensembles as well as solo performances. Some video recordings go back to the 1950s. Footage includes interviews with Copland, Reich, Cage, and others, performances by Ozawa, Solti, Bernstein. Great primary source for researching conductors and musicians. CMV also includes a fine series of masterclasses from the Masterclass Media Foundation. You can create your own playlists and edit video clips right in the browser.
Compilation of music reference sources and includes full text articles, musician biographies, and music-related definitions. Includes Grove Music Online, The Oxford Companion to Music, and The Oxford Dictionary of Music. Limited to eight simultaneous users.
"An international database of bibliographic records for completed dissertations and new dissertation topics in the fields of musicology, music theory, and ethnomusicology, as well as in related musical, scientific, and humanistic disciplines."