Finding Articles and Databases
Help Videos for Finding Articles
- Find an Article by TitleThis video shows how to find an article by title using the Articles Search tool.
- Find an Article by Title when Articles Search Doesn't WorkThis video will show you how to find an article by title when the article doesn’t appear the first time you try Articles Search.
- Find a Full Text Article with LibKeyThis video shows how to use the LibKey link from within a database to determine if the full text article is available online.
Help Videos for Finding Databases
- Find a Database by TitleThis video shows how to find a Milner Library database when you already know the title.
- Find a Database by SubjectThis video shows how to find a Milner Library database that covers a specific subject or discipline.
Help Videos for Finding Journals
- How to Find an Electronic Journal by TitleThis video shows how to find the electronic version of a journal using the Electronic Journal (e-journals) search tool.
- How to Find a Print Journal by TitleThis video shows how to find the print version of a journal in the library using the Milner Library catalog.
LibKey Nomad
LibKey Nomad is a browser extension installed on all Milner Library computers. You can also install it on your personal computer for Chrome, Firefox, or Edge (scroll down to bottom of page for download options). While it doesn’t replace the library’s catalog, LibKey Nomad can provide quick access to articles found via Google or other websites, using the library’s subscriptions.
LibKey Io
LibKey Io is a search tool available on the Interlibrary Loan page and the Citing Sources guide DOIs page. Enter the DOI of an article to bring up Milner Library options for accessing the article.
Finding the Full Text of an Article
Search for Articles
Let's say you are looking for articles about Franz Schubert's String Quintet in C Major, D. 956. Here is an example of how you could search for this topic in Music Periodicals Database:
- Enter the main ideas from your topic into the search boxes. For my example, I'll enter Franz Schubert in one search box and the work number D. 956 in another box.. Choose Search.
- On the search results page, use the options under Limit To to narrow your topic further.
- Choose Peer Reviewed to get only articles reviewed by other experts in the field to make sure they are accurate.
- If desired, change the older date to be more recent, for example 2018 or 2019.
- Choose an article title to find out more about the article and check for Milner Library access to the full text.
View Article Info
Find Out More About the Article
The information in the middle tells you more about the article, including:
- The authors
- The title, volume, and issue of the journal it is from
- Subjects covered in the article.
- An abstract at the bottom of the page that provides a summary of the article.
Access the Full Text
- The left side of page shows options for accessing the full text of the article through Milner Library.
- See the Access Full Text tab of this box for more details about how to get the full text of an article.
Get a Link to View the Article Later and See Sample Citations
The right side of the article page has some helpful tools including:
- Email: Choose All Options and select Email to email the page to yourself so you can view the article later.
- Copy URL: Get a URL that will always take you back to the article (the URL in the browser box will not work to get you back to the article).
- Cite: This generates example citations for the article in a variety of citation styles. You always need to double check these against the style guide for your citation style to make sure they are correct.
Access Full Text
At the top of the article page, there are options for accessing the article through Milner Library.
If there is full text through the database you are searching, there will be Full Text - PDF and Download PDF links.
If there are no full text links in the database you are searching, choose the Find It button to see if it is available through any other Milner databases.
If a LibKey access page appears, choose the Download PDF link to get the full text or select the Article Link to view the page for the article in the journal the article appears in.
If LibKey can't find online full text access, the Find It page will appear instead. The Find It page may sometimes have other online access links or a listing of Mlner's print volumes of the journal the article is in. If there isn't online or print access in Find It, Choose Sign in in the yellow box that says "Please sign in to check for any request options."
When you choose Sign In next to it and login with your ULID and password, it should give you a link to request the article via interlibrary loan (ILL).
- Interlibrary Loan allows you to send a request for an article to our Interlibrary Loan staff. If they can find a copy of the article, you will get a PDF of it in your ILL account. This may take 5-7 days but articles often come much sooner.
Need help? Ask me!
Office: Milner Room 426A
In person and Zoom consultations by appointment: use the Schedule Appointment button.