Primary, Secondary & Tertiary Sources in Music
Primary sources in music are a direct representation of the work of the composer or author. This is different than secondary sources—books and journal articles—which often analyze primary sources. And tertiary sources—encyclopedias and dictionaries—are often research done on secondary and primary sources.
Types of Primary, Secondary & Tertiary Sources in Music
Primary Sources
A primary source is an original work. Types of primary sources include:
- Scores in general, but particularly manuscripts/facsimiles of scores or early printed editions of scores
- Musical or spoken audio recording
- Letters/correspondence
- Autobiography
- Musical instruments
- Film footage of rehearsals
- Personal Journal
- Hand-written text manuscript
- Speech
- Interview
An example of a primary source for John Cage is Letters by John Cage.
Secondary Sources
Secondary sources are one step removed from primary sources. Often they are an analysis, critique, or interpretation of a primary source.
Types of secondary sources include:
- Biography
- Textbook
- Review article
- Critical essay about people or past events
An example of a secondary source for John Cage is a website about Cage's writings.
Tertiary Sources
Tertiary sources are often a combination and examination of primary and secondary sources. Examples include:
- Dictionary
- Encyclopedia
- Bibliography
- Discography
An example of a tertiary source about John Cage is an article about him in an encyclopedia on experimental music.
Example Primary Sources in Music
Books
Source Readings in Music History by Call Number: Floor 2 Reference, Floor 6, and Storage Basement ML160 .S89 1998bPublication Date: 1998Building on the work of Oliver Strunk's first edition and revised and extended by a team of scholars working under the direction of musicologist Leo Treitler, this book provides a comprehensive picture of Western musical thought and ideas through the ages.
Music Education: Source Readings from Ancient Greece to Today by Call Number: eBook - View full text using the link under Full text availability on the Catalog page for the book.Publication Date: 2013Music Education: Source Readings from Ancient Greece to Today is a collection of thematically organized essays that illuminate the importance of music education to individuals, communities and nations. This edition has been expanded to address the significant societal changes that have occurred since the publication of the last edition, with a greater focus on current readings in government, philosophy, psychology, curriculum, sociology, and advocacy.
Women in Music by Call Number: Floor 6 Shelves ML82 .W65 1996Publication Date: 1996The voices of women such as Abbess Hildegard of Bingen, Clara Schumann, and Marian Anderson resonate as they emerge from the wide range of materials in this volume, which includes letters, diaries, poems, novels, and reviews that reveal women's achievements not only as patrons and educators but also as composers and performers.
Scores
- Sources, Ms.Article in the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians that lists music manuscripts from the 9th through 16th centuries. ML 100 .N48 2001 or Online.
- RISM A/II: Music Manuscripts After 1600An index of historical music manuscripts held by libraries and archives around the world.
- Census-Catalogue of Manuscript Sources of Polyphonic Music, 1400-1550 byCall Number: ML169.8 .R46 no.1 v. 1-5ISBN: 3775106456Publication Date: 1979-19885 volumes, includes a bibliography.