Skip to main content

Music

This guide covers the different types of music resources available at Milner Library.

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians
Sadie
Ref ML100 .N48 2001
Also available online as part of Oxford Music Online.

Baker's Dictionary of Music        
Slonimsky
Ref ML100 .S635 1997
A to Z listing of musicians, famous compositions, musical terms, and instruments.

Apel/Randel
Ref ML 100 .A64 2003
One volume covers all styles and forms of Western music.

New Grove Dictionary of Opera
Sadie
Ref ML 102 .O6 N5 1992b
Also available online through Oxford Music Online.

Baker's Dictionary of Opera        
Kuhn
Ref ML 102 .O6 B26 2000
1,000 entries covering performers, librettists, set designers, scholars, directors, and composers related to opera.

Polyglot Dictionary of Musical Terms        
(Terminorum musicae index septem linguis redactus)
Ref ML 108 .T4
Translations of musical terms in German, English, Italian, French, Spanish, Russian, and Hungarian.

Slonimsky
Ref ML 109 .S35 1995
Pronunciation guide for musical terms.

Bibliographies

Hill & Stephens
Ref ML 113 .H55 1997
Useful for finding specific works within major sets of music.

 

Heyer
Ref ML 113 .H52 1980
Lists the contents of each volume in the collected works of composers and cites the location of individual music works in anthologies. This set is available in the reference collection on Floor 2 and there is also a copy on Floor 6.

Duckles (ed. Reed)

Ref ML 113 .D83 1997

Standard source for materials on music research

Brook & Viano

Ref ML 113 .B86 1997

A listing of composer thematic catalogues.

Biographical Sources

Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians
Slonimsky
Ref ML 105 .B16 2001
6-volume set covers mainly classical musicians and performers.

Ref ML 102 .P66 B35 2004
2 volumes. Nearly 600 entries on bands and artists in all genres of popular music.

Ref ML 385 .C66
Multi-volume set with over 4,500 entries on performers and composers. Some entries include a discography and bibliography.

Larkin
Floor 2 Reference: Building Use Only
ML102.P66 G84 1998
8 volumes. Includes bibliographical references, discographies, and indexes.

Women in Music : an Encyclopedic Biobibliography
Hixon
Ref ML 105 .H6 1993
Two volumes that index almost 20,000 biographies of women musicians of all periods and countries.

Cohen
Ref ML105 .C7 1987
Two volumes of biographical entries and works lists.

Music Analysis

Floor 2 Reference: Building Use Only
ML 128 .A7 D5 1991
 
Hoek
Floor 2 Reference: Building Use Only
ML 113 .H695 2007
 
Floor 2 Reference: Building Use Only & Floor 6 Shelves
MT 90 .T6 E3