Finding Audio Recordings
Milner Tools for Finding Recordings
- Music Audio & Video Recording DatabasesMilner Library subscription databases providing access to streaming music audio and video.
- Milner CatalogCheck the Milner Library catalog to see if we have the recording you need. You can request CDs from the storage basement online through the catalog and check them out at the Service Desk on Floor 2 with your Redbird Card. You can access streaming recordings online in the catalog using the links under View Online.
Milner CD Collection
Milner Library currently has around 5,000 CDs that you can check out. They are kept in Milner Library's storage basement, so you will need to search for them in the Milner Catalog and request them online using your Milner/I-Share account. You will get an email when they are ready for you to pick up at the Service Desk on Floor 2.
You can listen to them a few different ways:
- Check out an external USB DVD drive from the Service Desk on Floor 2.
- Use the listening station on Floor 2.
Websites
- Spirituals DatabaseThe Spirituals Database offers searchable access to recorded track information for over 3,000 Negro Spiritual settings performed by solo Classical vocalists. The resource contains a selection from more than 90 years of historic and contemporary recordings produced on compact discs, long-playing (33 1/3 rpm) albums, 78 rpm records, 45 rpm discs and audio cassettes, as well as demonstration recordings from musical score collections of Spirituals.
- Internet Archive Audio Archive"This library contains recordings ranging from alternative news programming, to Grateful Dead concerts, to Old Time Radio shows, to book and poetry readings, to original music uploaded by our users."
Need help? Ask me!
Christine Fary
she/her
Contact:
Phone: 309-438-5010
Office: Milner Room 426A
In person and Zoom consultations by appointment: use the Schedule Appointment button.
Office: Milner Room 426A
In person and Zoom consultations by appointment: use the Schedule Appointment button.
Subjects: Agriculture, Music