Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Zotero

This guide provides in-depth instructions on how to use Zotero, organize sources, and create in-text citations and bibliographies.

Adding Sources to Your Library and Collections

Zotero provides a variety of options for adding sources to your Library. This section provides step-by-step instructions on how to add sources in the following ways. To edit an existing source record, look at the Modifying Source Records page.

  • Browser Add-on (Connector)
    This will be the primary way you add sources from the library catalog, databases, and open web sources.
  • Search Results List
    Use this option when you want to add a list of sources from a catalog, database, or open web search results list.
  • Google Scholar
    Normally, you add sources from Google Scholar using the Browser Add-on. Sometimes, that doesn't work. Here is an alternative method.
  • PDF Files
    If you have readable PDF files, this is quick and easy way to add a source record to your Library.
  • RIS / tab-delimited file
    This method works best if you are transferring from one source manager to another. Also, for some databases this is the only option.
  • Manually Add a Source
    When no other method is available you can add a source to your library manually.