Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Zotero

This guide provides in-depth instructions on how to use Zotero, organize sources, and create in-text citations and bibliographies.

Working with Collections / Folders

Creating a Collection (Folder)

To help organize your sources place them in collections (a.k.a. folders). Remember that sources remain in the main library as well as reside in a collection.

  1. In Zotero, click the New Collection button
  2. In the popup window, enter a name for the collection
  3. Click the OK button
  4. You can now start adding sources to the collection

For instruction on adding sources to your Zotero Library, consult the Adding Sources section of this guide.

Renaming a Collection

  1. Right click over the collection.
  2. Select Rename Collection... from the popup menu.
  3. Enter a new name in the popup window.
  4. Click the OK button
    1. The collection will automatically resort alphabetically.

Creating a Subcollection (sub-folder)

  1. Right click over the collection you want a subcollection.
  2. Select New Subcollection... from the popup menu.
  3. Enter a name in the popup window.
  4. Click the OK button
  5. An arrow will appear by the main collection to indicate a subcollection.

Deleting a Collection

When deleting a collection you will have two choices: delete the collection container but not the sources within it OR delete the collection container and the sources within it.

  1. Right click over the collection.
  2. Select either Delete Collection... OR Delete Collection and items... from the popup menu.
    Delete Collection... just deletes the collection container but not the sources housed within it.
    Delete Collection and items... deletes the collection container AND the sources housed within it.
  3. Click the OK button
    1. If you accidentally delete items, they are placed in Trash and can be moved back into your Library.