Zotero

Most sources can be captured and directly imported into your Zotero Library using the Zotero Browser Connector.

To capture a source on the web (database articles, websites, YouTube, etc.), use the Browser Connector* (view the Adding the Browser Connector page to add to your preferred browser).

1. Open the Desktop app installed on your computer
2. When viewing a web page or article, click the Connector button.
   • The Connector usually recognizes the type of source automatically
3. When prompted, select the collection/folder you want to add the source to.
4. Wait while the Connector adds the source to your Library or Collection
5. In the Desktop app, the last source added is highlighted in the Library or Collection

*More information about installing the Zotero Browser Connector can be found on the Adding the Browser Connector page.

Video Transcript

The quickest way to add sources to Zotero is using the Browser Connector.

When clicked, it automatically adds the source to your Zotero library.

First, open the Zotero Desktop app installed on your computer.

Then with the source open in your browser, click the Connector button.

The Connector recognizes the type of source you’re adding.

Here are some examples.

Within a database, the connector icon will change to an article icon.

If the pdf full text is available, it will be downloaded with the source information.

In the Library Catalog, the icon will change to a book icon.

To add multiple sources at once, click the folder icon from the Search Results page.

In the popup box, check the sources that you want to add to your library or collection.

For web pages the icon will look like a web page.

For a video, the icon will look like a webcam.

In Zotero, all the items you added will be listed either in the selected collection and the main Library.