Guides: Reference Training: Desk Supplies

Reference Desk Supplies

Floor 2 Desk

Top of Desk	Cabinets Under Desk	Desk Drawers	Bookcase behind desk
Daily room schedule Plastic sheet at each station: Milner library computer software, call transfer instructions, phone directory, Drop-In Writing Assistance hours, mini calendar, dummy account login (needs updating), Bone parking lot hours, media equipment available at Circulation Desk (needs updating?), education kit checkout and return contact information, Redbird Card Office hours, AED/CPR trained employee list, Work at Milner, copier numbers and campus numbers to know; IRMA retrieval schedule is under left side workstation plastic sheet. Next to phones: How to transfer a call, how to check phone messages, left phone has public address system instructions Handout racks: floor maps (Floors 2/3, 4/5, 6/TMC), iTour, library hours, Milner Library calling cards, how to print sheets, TMC blue cards, FAXZero handouts, Safewalk flyers, finding textbooks cards, library account cards Hand sanitizer pump bottles (also in dispenser on pillar on side of desk closest to front door) Top of Desk: golf pencils, note cards, red Milner Library calling cards, newsletter	*On top of cabinet* Tissues Guest login book *Top drawer* Handouts - Call Number Locations by Floor (green), We’re Here to Help librarians by subject (lilac) and librarians and staff by department (ivory) directories, hold slips, special loan permission slips, Redbird Card Refund forms, new patron forms, *Middle Drawer* *of left cabinet* Disinfectant wipes Swiffer dusters Assorted tools Flashlights *Middle Drawer of right cabinet* Golf pencils Regular pencils Tape dispenser Printer paper cabinet key on pig fob, aka “pig key” Stapler Notecards Staples for special and regular staplers at public station and desk Paperclips Sticky notes Rubber bands White out Pens Highlighters Dry erase markers *Bottom drawer of left cabinet* Emergency and severe weather alert signs Handouts – iTour, maps (campus, Bloomington/Normal), desk opening and closing procedures, how to print, emergency contact numbers, finding textbooks, redbird card info, emergency signs, paper system is down signs Student Assistant Handbook *Bottom drawer of right cabinet* Handouts – Future guest logins, iTour, maps (campus, Bloomington/Normal), desk opening and closing procedures, how to print, emergency contact numbers, redbird card info *Slot under desk to right of printer* Laminated cardboard “System is down” signs in case of technology not working Disaster Plan	*Left side* Pens Pencils Paper clips Sharpie Scissors Highlighter Whiteout Glue stick Sticky Notes Band Aids *Right side* Pens Pencils Paper clips Sharpie Scissors Highlighter Whiteout Glue stick Sticky Notes Staple remover Ruler Band Aids	Copy card in pocket on inside of right cabinet door Reference desk government documents collection Reference desk reference book collection Map checkout folder Disinfectant wipes Floor 2 desk hours sign Away from desk sign Large stapler

Other Floor 2 Locations

Floor 2 Public supply table

Electric pencil sharpener
Three hole paper punch
Stapler
Tape dispenser and scissors on chain
Paper cutter
Extra staples in basket

Floor 2 black handout rack by public supply table

APA, MLA, and Chicago style Milner Library Quick Guides
Floor maps for floors 2/3, 4/5, and 6/TMC
Library hours
Finding articles in Combined Search/Library databases flowcharts
Finding books in Combined Search
Redbird Safewalk flyers
Redbird Food Pantry flyers
Article type comparison chart

White cabinet behind reference desk print stations

8.5” x 11” printer paper reams

Floor 2 Reference Workroom

Grey cabinet in back left of room contains desk supply refills such as staples and tissues
Handout rack on right side of room contains a wide variety of handouts including We’re Here to Help librarians by subject (lilac) and librarians and staff by department (ivory) directories, APA, MLA, and Chicago style Milner Library Quick Guides, floor maps, Call Number Locations by Floor (green), Comparing Source Types table, ISU ReD brochure, Accessing eReserves, Milner Library pamphlet, library hours, item hold slips, special loan permission slips, Milner Library calling cards, Work at Milner flyers, Web of Science Quick Reference Cards, and ISU Career Center pamphlet, FaxZero handouts, Accounts at Milner, TMC blue cards, Milner faculty resources handout, Milner Library basic info half sheet, Finding Textbooks half sheet, Niiyama Poetic Japanese Pottery Collection card, Constitution Trail maps
Piano pedagogy cabinet with piano pedagogy books for music students on left side of room, key is kept in the Piano Pedagogy slot on the handout rack
First Aid kit is on a shelf on the right side of the room near the door closest to the scanners
Metal shelf above printer is where keyboards and mice go when the Floor 2 Desk is closed, and there is a pocket on the side of the shelf to put the desk copy card.

Floor 6 Reference Desk

Top of Desk

Notecards
Golf Pencils
Plastic sheet displaying information about Milner library computer software, call transfer instructions, phone directory, Drop-In Writing Assistance hours, mini calendar, IRMA retrieval schedule, dummy account login, Bone parking lot hours, media equipment available at Circulation Desk, Milner Library calling cards, and campus numbers to know
Daily room reservation schedule
We're Here to Help ivory and lilac sheets
Green Call Number Locations by Floor sheet
TMC blue cards about searching Milner Catalog for TMC items and using NoveList database
Handout rack containing Milner Library hours, Printing at Milner Library, Special Collections pamphlets, Accounts @ Milner Library, and floor maps for Floors 2/3, 4/5, and 6/TMC

Top drawer between computers

Writing implements - pens, pencils, golf pencils, Sharpies
Staplers, staples, and staple remover
Notecards and sticky notes
Whiteout
Glue stick
Scissors
Paper clips
Rubber bands
Rulers
Tape
Protractor
Special loan purple slips

Middle drawer between computers:

Bloomington/Normal phone book
VOIP phone manual
Floor 6 desk manual
Hanging folders of handouts - Login to LibAnswers/LibChat, emergency contact information, Who to Call, Milner Quick Guides for MLA, APA, and Chicago citation styles, Comparing Source Types chart
Opening and Closing Procedures
LibAnswers and LibChat login instructions
How to Print laminated color copy for desk use

Bottom drawer between computers:

Emergency and severe weather alert signs and holders
Flashlights

Top drawer on Right side of desk in Right column of drawers

Away from desk sign
Disinfectant wipes (hand sanitizer is in dispenser on wall to the right of the desk)
Special Collections pamphlets

Other Floor 6 Locations

Floor 6 Workroom cabinet straight across from workroom door

First Aid kit
Desk supply refills
Copy card on the inside of the right door
Laptop cart key on rack in third shelf up in tan cabinet.

Floor 6 Public supply table

Stapler
Paper cutter
Three-hole punch
Tape
Electric pencil sharpener

Reference Training

Reference Desk Supplies

Additional Links