Skip to Main Content
Milner Library

Reference Training

Helpful training materials and information for new librarians

Community Patrons

Courtesy Card

  • Patrons can apply for a Courtesy Card online.
  • Patrons should receive their Courtesy Card number by email after applying. This enables them to request items for curbside pickup before they have their Courtesy Card.
  • Patrons must show a proof of residence/ ID when they arrive for curbside pickup.

Community patrons cannot request materials online without first having a courtesy card. If a community patron/alum is having difficulty placing a request for a book, please copy both Travis Givens and Jeff Ridinger on the email.

Guest Computers

See the Research Services Teams Guest Login folder for guest login procedures, scripts, and patron slips.

Guest Login Procedure:

  1. Check the guest login log book to see if the patron has already signed in for the day for their single 2 hour session. There will be no extensions of the single 2 hour session per day.
    • If they haven't used their hours, go to step 2.
    • If they have used their hours, let them know that they have used up their time for the day.
  2. Ask the patron for a photo ID.  We cannot log patrons into the guest computers without first seeing a photo ID.
  3. In the guest login log book, record:
    • Patron Name
    • Date of login
    • Time of login
  4. Ask the patron to read the patron procedure slip and write their initials next to their name in the guest login log book to indicate that they understand and accept the guest login procedure.
  5. Ask the patron to stay at the desk while you log in to the guest computer.
    • Ask the patron if they need to use the databases and other Milner electronic resources.  If they do, open a browser window and log into a database.  Tell the patron to keep that window open as long as they want to access electronic resources, since closing the window will end the login.
  6. Invite the patron to the computer after you are done logging them in to keep the login as private as possible.

 Notes:

  • Only Reference Desk and Access Services staff will have the guest login credentials that allow access to both the computers and the databases. The guest login credentials should not be shared with student workers.
  • Access Services staff will log guest computer patrons in when the Reference Desk is closed.
  • Patrons get a single 2 hour login and no extensions on their 2 hour time limit.

Guest Printing

  • The guest printing process will remain the same.
  • The guest print station will be on the end of the Floor 2 Reference Desk closest to the front doors. 
  • Guest print jobs will come out of the printer behind the Reference Desk that is next to the public print station closest to the front door.
  • The How to Print from a Milner Library Guest Computer help video shows how to print from a guest computer.

Digitization Center

Digitization Center

The Digitization Center provides archival quality digitization services for the University community, external researchers, and the public.

Handouts

Print Handouts

  • Print handouts will once again be available for patrons, including:
    • Milner APA Style 7th ed Quick Guide
    • Milner MLA Style 8th ed Quick Guide
    • Milner Chicago Style 17th ed Quick Guide
    • Floor Maps for Floors 2-6 and the TMC
    • Textbooks half sheet
    • We're Here to Help sheets

Electronic Handouts

Handouts are collected together online in two places:

Particular Helpful Handouts:

Textbooks

There are two resources that will be helpful for answering Textbook questions:

Reporting Problems

Reporting Technology Problems

Computers, Printers, Scanners, Copiers

Contact LITS at any time via:

Microfilm Machines

NOTE: When you put out an out of order sign, be sure to contact LITS or Ryan as appropriate to report the problem.

Who to Call

  • The Who to Call provides information about who to contact for a wide variety of issues.

CAP Contact List

  • The CAP Contact List is maintained by CAP and tells CAP staff to contact about a variety of issues.

Electronic Resources Questions

Facilities Problems

In the event that you need to report a building facilities issue:

  • Daytime emergency (requiring immediate attention): Call Ryan's cell at 212-3605.
    • If he cannot be reached, contact the Circulation desk at 8-7321.
  • Night & weekend emergencies: Contact the Circulation desk at 8-7321.
  • Non-emergency facilities issues: Contact Ryan at rjpete2@ilstu.edu (preferred) or at 8-2865.

The circ desk should only field calls for facilities issues which require immediate attention, such as:

  • Blood & bodily fluids
  • Elevator out of order
  • Electrical outages (large banks of lights out, etc.)
  • Plumbing disasters (toilets or sinks overflowing)

Illness or Absence

Illness and Absence Procedures

See the Reference Group Cell Numbers & Desk Absence Procedures document in the Research Services Teams folder for librarian and student worker illness and absence procedures.

The Reference Group Cell Numbers & Desk Absence Procedures document is also available in print in a red folder in the bottom drawer of the stack of drawers on the right side of the desk when you are working behind the Reference Desk.

Reference Desk Helpful Documents and Resources

Reference Desk Updates

Viewing Reference Desk Updates

  • Check the Reference Desk Updates and General discussions in the Research Services Team for information about assignments and other need-to-know items for those working the Reference Desk.

Posting Reference Desk Updates

Research Services Teams Folder

The Research Services Teams Folder has helpful documents including:

Reference Desk Training Folder

The Reference Desk Training folder in Research Services Teams has helpful reference desk training documents including:

Reference Training Guide

The Reference Training Guide contains helpful Reference Desk procedure information including:

  • Reference Desk procedures, such as using the desk phones and LibAnswers/LibChat, and Reference Desk opening and closing procedures.
  • Lists of desk supplies and helpful handouts and guides.
  • Floor maps.
  • Answers to FAQs for Floor 2 and Floor 6 desks.
  • Documents listing who to contact for different issues.

 

FAQs

The Milner Library FAQs have answers to many frequently asked questions about Milner Library and ISU resources and services.

The FAQs in the Featured tab will be especially helpful for the start of the semester.

Visor Center and Univesity College Support for Students

Milner Library Drop In Writing Assistance

  • The Julia N. Visor Center provides drop in writing assistance sessions at Milner Library.
  • Sessions are:
    • 30 minutes each
    • First-come first-serve
    • One on one
  • Hours:
    • Mondays: 6–8 p.m.
    • Tuesdays: 4–8 p.m.
    • Wednesdays: 4–8 p.m.

Visor Center Writing Assistance by Appointment

Graduate School Writing Support by Appointment

  • The Graduate School offers graduate student writing support appointments to help with questions about editing, formatting, and checking papers for graduate classes.
  • Appointments:
    • Are one-on-one.
    • Can be online or in person.
    • Are limited to three per semester.

Tutoring

  • The Julia N. Visor Center offers tutoring for a variety of 100-level courses.
  • There are three different ways to schedule tutoring appointments:

Workshops

  • The Visor Center offers workshops on a variety of different subjects, including:
    • Reading and Writing
    • Math
    • Study Skills
    • Time Management
  • The Visor Center also partners with Milner Library to offer a variety of library-related workshops.
  • Workshop sign up is offered in three different ways:
    • Online (only works until two weeks before the session): https://bit.ly/sprworkshops22
    • Call the Julia N. Visor front desk at: (309) 438-7100
    • Visit the Julia N. Visor Center in person in the Vrooman Center (located in the basement of Hewett-Manchester Residence Halls)

Access to Textbooks at the Visor Center

  • The Julia N. Visor Academic Center offers a selection of textbooks for student use.
  • Their textbook collection supports various general education courses and connects with their tutoring support services.
  • The Visor Center textbooks must be used in their space that is located on the lower level of the Vrooman Center, between Manchester and Hewett Halls.
  • If you have questions about their services or about what is available from Visor Center, contact them for further assistance.

Visor Center

Dean of Students & University College

See the Dean of Students & University College : Supporting Students PDF for a brief overview of services provided by University College.

Storage Requests

Storage Requests

  • Since Microfilm has moved to Floor 4, we no longer need to get microfilm from Closed Stacks for patrons.
  • Since ISU students, faculty and staff and community patrons can all request items from storage online, we will no longer be pulling items from Closed Stacks for patrons.  Instead, we can help them request the item from storage.
  • For visitors from other I-Share institutions, we can recommend requesting books from storage in the catalog and journals and microfilm in storage using interlibrary loan through their institution's interlibrary loan program.

Additional Links